Looking for a recommendation

Ruski

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys I'm a train driver and need to inspect the locomotives before I do my runs every morning so I'm looking for a small but powerful flashlight preferably something along the lines of a penlight that can be clipped to my overalls.

I'm not too fussed if it's waterproof or not and as far as power goes I'm only in need of something that has maybe a very good bright beam for about 10-50m max.

I would also prefer something that uses standard size batteries such as AA or AAA but if they are something different and rechargeable I'm not to fussed.

I was thinking something like the LED Lenser P2 or P4.
Anyone know if they are any good or does someone have a better recommendation?

Cheers in advance.

compasillo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Led Lenser P5 is more powerful and could meet better your requirements.
It's not a penlight but is thin enough to fit a trouser pocket. The P4 model is only 14 lumens wich I guess very dim to light up to 50 meters.

Also you can try the Preon 2 (2xAAA), from 4Sevens, wich is a true penlight with a clip and pretty powerful (forward clicky). It has 3 normal modes L-M-H (plus another 4 hidden) wich may be an incovenient if you need the highest output at first press, though changing modes is way fast and easy (half press)

Last edited:

Brian321

Enlightened
This is pretty much opposite of what you are looking for, but i figured i would give you the option.

Surefire A2 Aviator

Im not sure if you have to read anything in the train, but if you do the aviator may fit the bill. Here is a quote from an article of the aviator.

"weighing barely four ounces, the Aviator was designed specifically for military and commercial pilots, who need a torch to both inspect the outside of their aircraft and illuminate their charts inside the cockpit without damaging their night-vision."

Here is the full article:
https://www.popsci.com/military-aviation-space/article/2003-10/review-a2-aviator-flashlight