18650 and 26650 questions

NightReaper

Newly Enlightened
Several questions as I am new to the Li-on rechargeable world.

I'll start by saying I have 2 18650 chargers:

One pretty much just like this one:
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.6105

the other is:
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.936

Questions:

I have received several 18650 batteries (from my uncle (ledaholic) that passed away, I was given all of his flashlight collection) some are protected and some are not. I know I don't really need to worry about charging the protected batteries so when charging my (what I believe) to not be protected 18650's do I need to be basically sitting with the charger to pull them off when the charger says they are done?

Now with the 26650 batteries what do I need to use to charge them? I think they may be unprotected as well???

I have a unknown battery that I need help ID'ing but I will post about it here in a few days when I get some spare time.

Thanks for the info guys! I really appreciate it!

Jonathan

TriChrome

Enlightened
As long as your chargers auto-stop when the voltage reaches 4.2 volts (like most of the modern chargers do), you don't have to do anything different when charging protected versus non-protected cells. With cheap chargers though, it's always a good idea to pull them off when they're done just in case.

To charge 26650's, I have seen people carve out the plastic housing on 18650 chargers to charge the 26650's (since they're the same length, but much fatter). There's also mods to C (or is it D?) size battery holders to hook them up to a LiPoly hobby charger (like RC car & Airplane battery chargers).

I personally use a hobby charger meant to charge LiPo cells (which also cuts off at 4.2 volts per cell) to charge my 26650's, jury rigged with alligator clips.

hazna

Enlightened