Twofish block, G2 and what drop-in for bike light?

BigBluefish

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm an absolute, complete noobie to bike lights.

My wife recently got me a bike. I guess it's a mountan bike, or hybrid. Honestly I haven't ridden a bike since I was just out of college and that was an old Rampar ten-speed road bike. This thing is a Raleigh (didn't they also make Rampar back in the day?) has something like 20 gears, two sets of tires, one for street riding and I guess one for off-road, and looks pretty sturdy. Which is good, 'cause I'm 6'3" and 230 lbs.

I thought I'd like to ride this around the neighborhoods on the roads in the evenings after work, and maybe down several paved biking trails as well, after dark. Though there's probably some ordinance around here that says i'm not supposed to do that.

So I'll need a light for the front. I was thinking a SureFire G2 would work OK.

My questions: can I use one of those Twofish mounts sold by 4Sevens with the G2?

What type of LED drop-in should I get. I was thinking perhaps a Malkoff M60LF or M60LL, as much becasue they are on sale now, as for the longer runtimes over the reguar M60s. But I'm not sure what beam profile I shoudl get, or what lumens level is really appropriate for a bike light, given that the light should keep me from running to things I can't see, and also keep people from running into ME. Flood, throw? 60 lumens? 100 lumens? 500 lumens?

With that in mind, I guess I should some of red light on the back of the bike. Any suggestions?

idlejam

Newly Enlightened
Well I'm not sure about the LED drop-in to use, but as far as the Twofish parts, I've got a couple and have been very happy with them.

I use mine with either a Romisen RC-N3, or 4sevens Quark R2, and it works beautifully. The rubber blocks are pretty flexible, so you shouldn't have any problem fitting the G2 into it.

peak_oil

Newly Enlightened