LED's in signs

D

Dave_Metcalfe

LED\'s in signs

I am extremely new to LED's and would like to explore the possibility of using them to illuminated signs. I am aware that there are companies out there who can sell me an individual package for each application but I would like to learn how to build them myself. Am I correct in thinking that this can be achieved using transformers etc. Where would I get guidance/literature from. Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance,

Dave
Redcar /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gifUK

Bandgap

Enlightened
Re: LED\'s in signs

Take a look at the documents available here.

www.lumileds.com/products/documentation_index.html

- you may have to sign in.

These may answer some questions, there is an application on sign use.

I remeber there was a document on trying Luxeons quickly.
AFAIK it is: AB11: Electrical Drive Information for Luxeon Samples

Steve, London

Doug Owen

Flashlight Enthusiast

Howdy,

I guess I didn't follow, perhaps you could set me straight? Did you want to light a sign with one or more LEDs (mains powered flashlights, basically) or did you want to make a sign from LEDs (like where they make the letters)?

Either is easy enough to do, but probably should be done differently.

So, what did you want to do? I suspect there's more than enough ready help and good advice about.....

Doug Owen

D

Dave_Metcalfe

Thanks for the replies, I'll check out the references posted.

To explain what i would like to do initially, if you look at the large internally illuminated letters (2ft-3ft)on buildings they are normally made from either aluminium or stainless steel and the illumination comes from a piece of neon glass formed to the same shape as the letter and placed inside it. The neon is not the most stable of systems and requires certain fire precautions. I would like to replace the neon with a circuit board?? cut to the same shape as the letter which will hold a series of LED's to supply the illumination.