Which soldering iron, folks? ***UPDATE: METCAL!***

milkyspit

Flashlight Enthusiast
I need help in finding a good yet moderate price soldering iron for electronics work, including replacing the LS on my MadMax sandwich. The soldering iron I own seems to be underpowered, in that it is finicky in melting solder -- sometimes it does so in a fraction of a second, other times I rub the solder against the tip for several seconds and it doesn't melt at all! -- and it is completely incapable of heating a joint to flow the solder into it. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mecry.gif

Simply put, what do I need? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif

I'm not interested in setups costing $100+ because I'm just a hobbyist, and solder things only occassionally. Still, I've got to believe there is a good unit for me, no? After all, when you get right down to it, it's just a heating element in a metallic stick with an insulated handle! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I did see a $70 soldering station with digital temperature control over here at MPJA. Is this a good choice? Is there something cheaper that will do a good job for me? Questions, questions. Please help me make sense of this mess. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon23.gif

paulr

Flashaholic
Re: Which soldering iron, folks?

I haven't seen that MPJA station but it looks like a good deal. You really want a temperature regulated soldering station to work on those tiny parts.

kitelights

Flashlight Enthusiast

That looks like a pretty good bang for the bucks.

A cheaper alternative would be the Weller WLC100 Variable Output Soldering Station. It's $40 at Hosfelt and uses just a simple dial to adjust from 5 to 40 watts. Fairly good selection of tips for about $4. Not as nice as your find.

shankus

Flashlight Enthusiast

That looks like a great station for a reasonable price.

markus_i

Enlightened

Looks ok. I'd recommend a Weller or Magnastat (either electronic or magnetic), though.
In any case:
- Minimum of 60 Watts