Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 61

Thread: How is you Tri-V set up?

  1. #1
    Flashaholic mikes1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hertfordshire England
    Posts
    345

    Question How is you Tri-V set up?

    How have you got it configured and why?

    Mine is so far

    configuration-slot-1 (CS1) standard

    CS2

    P1 MC-E 5ma
    P2 XP-G 30ma
    P3 XP-G 200ma
    P4 XP-G 1200ma
    p5 MC-E 1500ma
    p6 XR-E 1400ma

    I wanted somthing a little more powerfull than standard without going to mad
    I also want to set up CS3 for a balls out setting but have not desided on what to put ware yet
    Any idears for a good full power config?

    And what about CS4?

    Mike
    Last edited by mikes1; 05-25-2010 at 12:15 AM. Reason: Correct abreveations
    You don't win friends with salad!

  2. #2
    Flashaholic* chipwillis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,529

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I just went back to stock.
    Once things leave my hands I am not responsible for what happens.

  3. #3
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,571

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikes1 View Post
    How have you got it configured and why?

    Mine is so far

    slot one standard

    Slot two

    position 1 MCE-5ma
    position 2 XP-G 30ma
    position 3 XP-G 200ma
    Position 4 XP-G 1200ma
    position 5 MCE 1500ma
    position 6 XR-E 1400ma

    I wanted somthing a little more powerfull than standard without going to mad
    I also want to set up slot three for a balls out setting but have not desided on what to put ware yet
    Any idears for a good full power config?

    And what about slot four?

    Mike
    Interesting set-up, Mike. Do you find that the extra power in positions 4/5/6 is much more noticeable compared to the standard ones?

    I'm on the fence about programming mine still. Mainly because I like the idea of having 100% duty cycles.

    I've thought about increasing position 4 for the XPG to 1000ma so that there is increased output (compared to 800ma) whilst still maintaining the 100% duty cycle.
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  4. #4
    Flashaholic RIDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    381

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Whew....I'm not the only one who is enjoying it stock!

    But I do like your set up...and kudos for playing around with it a bit.

    I think I may do some tweaking...and would like to have one spot set up in show-off mode ....but for now I am loving mine as is.

    RIDE

  5. #5
    Flashaholic mikes1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hertfordshire England
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I am really suprised just how much light the XP-G in such a small reflector puts out, the changes I made are not huge but you can tell the diffrence certainly on the two higher levels outside in the dark
    Please try reprograming your Tri-V it is easy once you get the basic idear of how you do it. Also a power up 3 sets you right back to standard if you cock it up Having four complete configureations is a real plus it takes just seconds to swap between say standard battery frendly or super high power for the darkest of night walks to the pub I don't think any other light comes close in terms of user customization

    Mike


    Quote Originally Posted by easilyled View Post
    Interesting set-up, Mike. Do you find that the extra power in positions 4/5/6 is much more noticeable compared to the standard ones?

    I'm on the fence about programming mine still. Mainly because I like the idea of having 100% duty cycles.

    I've thought about increasing position 4 for the XPG to 1000ma so that there is increased output (compared to 800ma) whilst still maintaining the 100% duty cycle.
    You don't win friends with salad!

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* karlthev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,731

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I have four configurations in the Tr-V, one of being the "factory" pre-set (but I didn't write them down--an old 007 trick doncha know!). Switching from one to the other a snap!

    Edit: "Why"? Just 'cuse I can! No, it permits greater flexibility if I need it. One of my settings in configuration four blasts all emitters at full power to permit me to effectively solicit the "Wows!" I need and presumably to dazzle (blind) would-be attackers. Since I appear unlikely to be carrying large sums of money, I'm not a likely target however....should it be known I am EDCing a Tri-V, well, that's another matter! The "Warp 9" setting does financially stabilize the Surefire battery corporation and permits me to practice opening the battery compartment as well!


    Karl
    Last edited by karlthev; 05-22-2010 at 05:17 AM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    This is my current configuration (as of 5-24-2010).

    PU1 & PU2 setup for primary battery use.
    PU1 PU2 PU3 & PU4 setup for rechargeable power use.

    Programming is what the TRI-V is all about.

    PU1
    Pos 1 MCE 5ma
    Pos 2 XPG 7ma
    Pos 3 XPG 80ma
    Pos 4 XPG 1000ma
    Pos 5 MCE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1000ma

    PU2
    Pos 1 XPG 10ma
    Pos 2 XPG 80ma
    Pos 3 XPG 1000ma
    Pos 4 MCE 10ma
    Pos 5 MCE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1000ma

    PU3
    Pos 1 MCE/XPG 3ma
    Pos 2 XPG 7ma
    Pos 3 XPG 80ma
    Pos 4 XPG 1000ma
    Pos 5 MCE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1500ma

    PU4
    Pos 1 MCE 3ma
    Pos 2 MCE 1900ma
    Pos 3 XPG 5ma
    Pos 4 XPG 1400ma
    Pos 5 XRE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1900ma
    Last edited by mendhammarsh; 05-24-2010 at 07:46 AM. Reason: Dispaly Error

  8. #8
    Flashaholic mikes1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hertfordshire England
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Very nice 

    Food for thought 

    Still tinkering with mine

    Update to follow

    Mike




    Quote Originally Posted by mendhammarsh View Post
    This is my current configuration (as of 5-24-2010).

    PU1 & PU2 setup for primary battery use.
    PU1 PU2 PU3 & PU4 setup for rechargeable power use.

    Programming is what the TRI-V is all about.

    PU1
    Pos 1 MCE 5ma
    Pos 2 XPG 7ma
    Pos 3 XPG 80ma
    Pos 4 XPG 1000ma
    Pos 5 MCE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1000ma

    PU2
    Pos 1 XPG 10ma
    Pos 2 XPG 80ma
    Pos 3 XPG 1000ma
    Pos 4 MCE 10ma
    Pos 5 MCE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1000ma

    PU3
    Pos 1 MCE/XPG 3ma
    Pos 2 XPG 7ma
    Pos 3 XPG 80ma
    Pos 4 XPG 1000ma
    Pos 5 MCE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1500ma

    PU4
    Pos 1 MCE 3ma
    Pos 2 MCE 1900ma
    Pos 3 XPG 5ma
    Pos 4 XPG 1400ma
    Pos 5 XRE 1000ma
    Pos 6 XRE 1900ma
    You don't win friends with salad!

  9. #9

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Quote Originally Posted by mendhammarsh View Post
    This is my current configuration (as of 5-24-2010).

    PU1 & PU2 setup for primary battery use.
    PU1 PU2 PU3 & PU4 setup for rechargeable power use.

    Programming is what the TRI-V is all about.

    . . .
    Those are great configurations mendhammarsh. I have my configuration-slot-4 (CS4) set up with:
    P1 MC-E 5 mA
    P2 MC-E 10 mA
    P3 MC-E 50 mA
    P4 MC-E 500 mA
    P5 MC-E 1000 mA
    P6 MC-E 1500 mA



    FYI, PU1 is the proper shorthand for power-up-1. Though I did not give a name for it in the document, configuration-slot-1 could be abbreviated CS1. Also note that P1 is the abbreviation for knob-position-1.


    Cheers
    Dav e

  10. #10
    Flashaholic* scout24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NY, Penn's Woods
    Posts
    3,093

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Karl- your comments about supporting Surefire battery corp. and allowing for practice opening the battery compartment almost had me snorting soda out of my nose...

  11. #11
    Flashaholic* karlthev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,731

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Thanks...I often wonder if my idea of "humor" is lost......



    Karl

  12. #12
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    615

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Has anyone played around with configs with multiple xre settings? I tried it, but I couldnt see any difference in throw, only a difference in brightness of the beam. I admint, I don't have ideal conditions outside my house at night to test whether there's noticably increased throw over 1000 ma.
    ::I don't always carry a flashlight, but when I do, I prefer Tri-V. Stay illuminated my friends::

  13. #13
    Flashaholic* karlthev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,731

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I have but I'll be honest in saying that I haven't noticed any difference in throw rather differences in the intensity of the beam striking the target. I have noticed differences with other aspherical-based lights but most were Mag-based and had rather large lenses (in comparison to the Tri-V) and considerably higher intensity. I have fields fairly close to my home for testing but haven't as of yet.


    Karl

  14. #14
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,319

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Besides the change to the light setting, I am curious as to who is running Primaries vs Rechargeables in their Tri-V's ???

    I'm asking, as I only have primaries ready for my "hopefully" delivery on the next run.

  15. #15
    Flashaholic gtwace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Primaries will run fine as well. If you are getting rechargables, I recommend getting AW's IMR cells with 8c discharge rate, the red ones, for maximum performance since Tri-V has a 3A setting, most other rechargable will limit to 1.5 or 2A output continuous. Rechargables will run brighter due to the higher voltage and save you some $ in the long run but gives lower run time.
    Think about it... a 2 stage light is all you need.

  16. #16
    Flashaholic* karlthev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,731

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I agree. I ran the Surefire primaries then the AW 750mA and now have the AW IMR 550mA in mine and all work just fine. Despite my intentions, since I put the IMRs into place, I'm running some rather "hot" numbers at the top end of each the four configurations. I just couldn't resist!



    Karl

  17. #17
    Flashaholic mikes1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hertfordshire England
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I put IMR's in mine from day one they work great


    Mike
    You don't win friends with salad!

  18. #18
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    226

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I'm currently carrying my Tri-V in a Canon Powershot case. It's a snug fit width wise, but there's room on the bottom for a pair of spare batteries.
    CS1 - factory
    CS2 - 1 MCE 3mA
    2 MCE 15mA
    3 MCE 1000mA
    4 XPG 100mA
    5 XPG 800mA
    6 XPG/XRE 1600mA

    CS3 - is a few combinations of pairs on at low and high levels
    CS4 - is near the limits!

    CS2 is really what I find most useful. I really like the warm flood of light from the MCE and the last three positions are great for spotting distant coyotes and horses.

    edit: running AW's RCRs with primaries as backup.

  19. #19
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,571

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Quote Originally Posted by derangboy View Post
    I'm currently carrying my Tri-V in a Canon Powershot case. It's a snug fit width wise, but there's room on the bottom for a pair of spare batteries.
    CS1 - factory
    CS2 - 1 MCE 3mA
    2 MCE 15mA
    3 MCE 1000mA
    4 XPG 100mA
    5 XPG 800mA
    6 XPG/XRE 1600mA

    CS3 - is a few combinations of pairs on at low and high levels
    CS4 - is near the limits!

    CS2 is really what I find most useful. I really like the warm flood of light from the MCE and the last three positions are great for spotting distant coyotes and horses.

    edit: running AW's RCRs with primaries as backup.
    I'm intrigued at what the beam is like with XPG/XRE 1600ma?
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  20. #20

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Quote Originally Posted by easilyled View Post
    I'm intrigued at what the beam is like with XPG/XRE 1600ma?
    It is a great combination of spill and throw. It is a compromise to having either of the two single emitters running at 1500 by itself. The XP-G is getting most of the power so the overall look is similar to just the reflector on with a little added throw.

    Cheers
    Dave

  21. #21
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,319

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I guess my Tri-V is still set to factory defaults as I am awaiting the next run.
    Looking forward to changing it up a bit.

  22. #22
    Flashaholic aikiman44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    400

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Default setting so far here
    IMR's on the way.

  23. #23
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    226

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Quote Originally Posted by Launch Mini View Post
    I guess my Tri-V is still set to factory defaults as I am awaiting the next run.
    Looking forward to changing it up a bit.
    Look east tonight, watch for blinding light

  24. #24
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    West Michigan
    Posts
    625

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    I'm looking east; praying to every God I've ever heard of; sending emails to be added to notification folders; selling every trinket I've ever purchased; setting up garage sales; picking up pop bottles on the side of the road and refreshing the Cool Fall forum constantly.

    I'm doing everything I can think of, to be able to come back to this thread to try out some of your configurations, and give you my favorite configuration! What, are we down to about a week to 10 days now?

  25. #25
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,319

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    My shipments from Dave get held up in Canada Customs for about 2-3days, so Dave, if your listening, maybe if you mailed one out west today, it just might make it here by Fathers Day
    How about a "Mini" sales thread to keep the wolves at bay?

  26. #26
    Flashaholic* karlthev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,731

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Yo Dave, ya sure this Tri-V thing is legal?? Looks like ya got the troops all wound up about it here!! It's not ta be believed guys.....worth the wait....


    Karl

  27. #27
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,319

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Quote Originally Posted by karlthev View Post
    Yo Dave, ya sure this Tri-V thing is legal?? Looks like ya got the troops all wound up about it here!! It's not ta be believed guys.....worth the wait....


    Karl
    I am looking east. Karl, if you want, you could "lend" me yours for a while

  28. #28
    Flashaholic* karlthev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    4,731

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Well John, I'd sure like to oblige you but, as you can plainly see, I already gave a pint of blood at my local Red Cross this morning



    .....and I've got good ol' number 400 locked down pretty tight right now....just ta be sure!



    I'm thinking about ya though...


    Karl

  29. #29
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,319

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?

    Thanks Karl.
    I will play with my SPY's till the big day.
    We had to go to a dance recital last night. In anticipation, I took my WW Spy, but set level 1 at really low. Wifey needed to read the program and I had the answer for her, without blinding the audience.
    I was soooo tempted to ramp it to level 6 & try it as an extra spot light for the stage.

  30. #30
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    226

    Default Re: How is you Tri-V set up?


    This is how I carry my Tri-V these days, although the light is alone in my left front pocket much of the time. I don't generally like things on my belt. These are still my preferred settings:
    P1 flood < 5mA - I just set to a level that was comfortable to light up in true darkness. It's hard to tell the emitter is even on in daylight!
    P2 flood 10mA - suitable for roaming around the house or walking to the barn
    P3 flood 800mA - I've backed this off from 1000mA because I was concerned about the heat. That little bit of Ti gets quite warm! Can't say I really notice a difference, still an impressive amount of warm floody light from a small unit.
    P4 reflector 100 mA - Takes a moment to adjust as it's like the fire went out! But as far as throw goes, it feels like a reasonable step.
    P5 reflector 600 mA - Again, I've backed the output off a bit for battery life and heat. Still very functional for running around outside in the dark.
    P6 Spot & Reflector 1200mA - I tried running the spot alone at 1800mA for a while, but I find I like the combo beam a little better. I find I'm looking at something in the distance and I can't, quite, make out what it is... "click" the angels sing and everything becomes clear!

    I like that all the settings are within 100% duty cycle. I'm sure I'll be back up to the program limits before long though

    Good luck to all patiently waiting for the next round!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •