Need Help Obtaining A Good 5W LED For KL3 Mod.

Gene

Flashlight Enthusiast
I want to mod a KL3 I have as I use it on my UBH II and I'm sick of it's sickly purple beam. I want to use a 5W LED. The KL3 seems to be a great candidate for a 5W. I have to admit though, I don't know much about them. I've heard I need a V3 or higher. Can anyone help me out here as to where I can get a V3 or higher 5W that will be bright and white? Any suggestions as to what LED I should use to produce the best combination of white and bright? Thanks.

kakster

Flashlight Enthusiast
Im fairly new to Luxeons in general, but V2 or V3 seem to be the best that you can easily obtain. There are W bins around, but they get snapped up straight away, or turn up in Mods ( such as the original run of McModules).
On a seperate note, im also interested in putting a 5 watter in a KL3, and id love to know how you plan on doing this. Are you going to mess with the regulator to increase the drive? if not, the 5 watter is going to be quite underdriven and be tinted whatever bin Luxeon you put in there.

lemlux

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm having CM place my W4W into a KL3. CM will replace a smt component to tune the output to 850 ma as soon as he returns from vacation.

CM advises that the max input voltage for the KL3 buck circuit is 9.8 V.

The least satisfactory aspect of this mod will be that the NX-05 will be retained. The head is not large enough for a Fraen optic and I'm not aware of a suitable reflector alternative.

I'm hoping that a pair of Li-Ions won't underdrive this very high Vf Luxeon. Worst case, I might have to drive it with 2 @ 123's plus a 50 mm Li-Ion in a 6P body extended with an A14.

kakster

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lemlux : check out Slick's thread in this forum about the new NX sized Fraen optics. Might be worth holding the Mod till these suckers are released, the beamshots look very promising.

lemlux

Flashlight Enthusiast
tylerdurden: