3854-H BULB BLOWN

357mag1

Enlightened
I was breaking in a new ROP bulb using 6.4volts (4 Nizn in series with mdocod adapter). When I checked on it after 30 minutes the bulb was milky white and dead. I broke the last 3854-H in the same way and now run it with two Li-ions in series and it works fine. Did I get a bad bulb?

Just wondering if others have had a similar experience?

357mag1

Enlightened
Thanks for the info. I recharged the batteries and inserted another 3854-H bulb which survived 30 minutes with no issues. I'm new at playing with Icans and wondered if my technique was flawed.

Illum

Flashaholic
if the lamp turns white...or blue, its a lemon

the white is Tungsten Trioxide, purple-blue is Tungsten Blue Oxide, either way it indicates oxygen has gotten into the envelope.

my experience with 3854-H failures only work two ways. Lamp either burns out, usually turning black or it instaflashes, and burns out with the globe clean. There is the third outcome involving a damaged reflector, but I've never had it happen with my ROP lamps

ANDREAS FERRARI

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks for that link DM51!

I was out in the woods just after midnight and opened the the trunk of my car.Out of the 2 dozen lights I had with me I chose a DBS Aspherical and a 2C ROP-High.That ROP lit up the bush for nearly 2 hundred yards!Still a great concept after all these years.I always wondered who came up with the idea until I saw this thread.......

ROP owners sign in.

Maybe time for new owners in sign up.

357mag1

Enlightened
Re: 3854-H BULB BLOWN (UPDATE, ANOTHER DEATH)

I have broke in one ROP High and have been running it with no issues using 6 14670 AW cells with 2 sets of 3 in parallel for a total of 7.4volts (8.4 max).