Newbie here--what are the best HID flashlights and spotlights ?

chipdouglas

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I'm new to HID and would like to know what are the very best HID flashlights and spotlights I could get ? My budget would be around $400.
I'm looking for decent runtime as well. Not sure I can get decent runtime at round $400 though.

I've seen the thread on the Stanley HID 3000, but actual runtime is way too low.

Thanks in advance

Patriot

Flashaholic
As HKJ stated, you can't go wrong with the L35. It has one of the best run-times of any 35W light and the output is on par with some more expensive lights.

chipdouglas

Newly Enlightened
Is Stanley HID 3000 a good purchase in the HID department despite the low runtime ?

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
Is Stanley HID 3000 a good purchase in the HID department despite the low runtime ?

It is a budget HID spotlight, with all the pros and cons. The SLA itself is vulnerable - if Wal Mart or Amazon kept it in a box for 4 months, your battery will never even deliver half an hour of runtime. It is hellishly bright and fairly good at throwing, but it's bulky and has a subpar battery, leading to annoying recharge performance and short runtime.

chipdouglas

Newly Enlightened
It is a budget HID spotlight, with all the pros and cons. The SLA itself is vulnerable - if Wal Mart or Amazon kept it in a box for 4 months, your battery will never even deliver half an hour of runtime. It is hellishly bright and fairly good at throwing, but it's bulky and has a subpar battery, leading to annoying recharge performance and short runtime.

Oh god, thanks for pointing this out--I think I'll cross this off from my list of limited options in HID spotlights/flashlights.

aurum

Enlightened
I'm new to HID and would like to know what are the very best HID flashlights and spotlights I could get ? My budget would be around $400.
I'm looking for decent runtime as well. Not sure I can get decent runtime at round $400 though.