Surefire G3+KT2 turbohead, recommend a Lumens factory lamp

ebow86

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm thinking of replacing the MN15 in my G3 and naturally I'm looking toward lumens factory. I'm not intrested in a surefire MN16 because 20min runtime is just 2 low. Runtime has to be longer that 20 minutes using surefire primaries. Right now I'm eyeballin the HO-M3T (9V, 380 Lumens) High Output Lamp Assembly, their claiming 380lum with 40min runtime, however, I have no experience with lumens factory lamps so I'm not sure about their lumen and runtime claims. Also checking out the EO-M3T @450lum with with a claimed runtime of 32 minutes. What are you guys experience with these lamps using CR123 primaries? Is the runtime and lumens exaggerated or are they pretty accurate? Searches doesn't seem to give me many anwsers regarding performance using CR123's.

jp2515

Flashlight Enthusiast
Incan noob here but I have dabbled with th LF lamps before. Mostly with the HO-M3T and the HO-M4. Pretty bright light, although I have not tested the runtime. Both have ran on SF CR123A without issues.

mdocod

Flashaholic
LF bulbs are optimized for li-ion cells more than CR123 cells. The EO-M3T could be thought of as a li-ion compatible version of the MN16. (The MN16 is severely over driven on li-ion cells). What that means is that, the EO-M3T is also going to be under-driven on CR123s. The same could be said for the HO-M3T but to a lesser extent, which is just a hair below that point in power consumption.

I think the runtime figures on the LF website are quite optimistic for CR123s (I had never looked at the before personally). They probably calculated a runtime from cell capacity on paper minus an actual test. This type of runtime estimate works better with li-ion than with lithium primary cells beacuse li-ion cells hold closer to their rated capacity at a wider range of loads.