New Dereelight Dbs V3 semi-review

cordystoy

Newly Enlightened
Received my new light, great service from Flashlight connection. The light itself is great. I'm not a techie but the throw and beam pattern looks flawless. Fit and finish looks perfect no scratches and everything looks tight. I easily compares quality wise with any of my Surefire, Fenix, or Streamlights, and out throws them all.

With the three outputs its a very usable light. I've only had it 3 days but it works great walking the dog at night. It's pretty hard for him to get out of range of this light. The middle setting is very usable for close range with out blinding everyone nearby. Haven't had it long enough to burn through any batteries ( I have the cr123 version, R5), but I'm starting out with some Panasonics I've had for awhile, I've already ordered some new ones from the Battery station.

I'm not smart enough to do beamshot pictures or anything, but I have allot of lights (6p,SL20, tk20, pd1....too many) but this one has the nicest output I've seen. Obviously a lot cooler than the tk20, and a much cleaner beam the the SL20.

Took the clip off, it was too tight for me to use, but the anodize in the screw holes is fully covered, nice attention to detail. I don't see any way to hook up a lanyard which is the only con I can think of, but it's not really if you don't use a lanyard I do. Maybe Dereelight will come up with something, I didn't see anything on their website.

Great website would never have even known about this light without it.

jblackwood

Enlightened
I'm guessing, based on your usage and battery choice comments, that you got a 3SM XP-G R5, correct? It's kind of important to state things like this when sharing your experiences with Dereelights due to their highly modular nature. When I got my first DBS,, for example, I got the 3SD pill with an XR-E R2 and a smooth reflector.