What's the consensus on Lithium Ion batteries?

pinoy

Newly Enlightened
I'm a noob. I've been dreaming of getting an 18650 powered flashlight since last year but could not justify spending more than $10. I saw a deal last week on a Fenix TK11 I could not passed up. I did my due research on lithium powered flashlights and found out the dangers that plague lithium batteries. I was surprised. I thought this would be an easy decision. Now I'm having second thoughts of getting the Fenix TK11. Such a nice light. I was thinking of giving it as a present.

I did a lot of research on the topic of exploding lithium ions and I'm more worried now than ever. I may have to stick with AA batteries. I do not want someone injured by a gift because I didn't heed the dangers and passed on a pipe bomb to an unsuspecting recipient. Am I justified to be paranoid or am I only getting one side of the story? How widespread or prevalent are exploding lithium ion batteries relative to nimh batteries? I understand that even nimh batteries can explode but it never made it on primetime news. I do remember the laptop battery fiasco a few years ago. Are lithium ion batteries inherently more dangerous than nimh batteries? As I understand it the main cause of the explosions are internal shorts, whether artificially induced or naturally occurs, that overheats the cells causing catastrophic chain of events. Overcharging produces the same effect.

Now, I've had more than ten nimh batteries develop shorts despite my utmost care. They leak and self discharge within a few days. They never explode fortunately. If these shorts can happen to lithium ion batteries just as easily then I am certain to encounter an explosion eventually. I want to hear if there's another side to the story. Just what are my odds?

Last edited:

qwertyydude

Flashlight Enthusiast