Mini Griptilian + Sharpmaker help

Advil

Newly Enlightened
hey guys, I have a spydie sharpmaker and I need some advice on how to sharpen my mini grip. I've been using the 20º angle to touch of the blade but ater some reading around I've read that 15º might have been a better idea, then I learned that some people are using BOTH angles.

whats the best method for this knife? it's my favorite edc and i really don't want to ruin it!

manoloco

Enlightened
Im not an expert in sharpening but i think i can help you:

Grippys iirc use a 15º+15º angle (in the sharpmaker you should use the 30º slots like it recommends)

if you use the 40º slots you will be REPROFILING the blade, but with the stones the std sharpmaker provides it will take you a couple hundred thousand strokes.

the sharpmaker is very good for blades that need a little maintenance, but not if you are going to change the angle of your edge, if you want to confirm, paint the edge (just the edge, not the entire blade) with a permanent marker and then sharpen.

what you mention about using both angles is a microbevel, and its advantage is only that its easier to maintain (next time you sharpen should take you a little less time), but that will take an extremely long to make with the sharpmaker.

However, i have a Benchmade Rant that is supposed to come at 30º inclusive, but the blade suited the 40º slots in the sharpmaker better...

my advice: use permanent marker method and see if you are only removing the shoulders or if you are sharpening the whole edge, according to that take the angle that sharpens the whole edge, and then sharpen the recommended way, dont put much force, just use the weight of the knife; but the most important part: be consistent on the angle, try to keep the knife steady and dont roll the tip.

hope this helps.