Building custom led brake light boards

Z

z_Qwkls1

Ok guys here is my dilemma. I have a 1973 IH truck, the tail lights suck basically and I know just using a plug and play 1157 led bulb will too.

I would like to construct two circuit boards using red 5mm led's for the brake/tail lights and white for the reverse lights.

My question: obviously I have to use a regulator which I've already learned from searching the site, but what is the best way to build these so that the lights are on with the running lights and when the brakes are applied they become 2-3 times brighter?

Dual fillament LEDs or what? I am new to this game and would appreciate any help, advice or anything to get me rolling on this project.

Thanks guys,

Garrett

Changchung

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi, welcome to the CPF, I have doing this kind of circuits for a long time, is more easy what you think, first option, run each 3 Leds with a 330ohm 1/4 resistor, them put a large resistor for all the red Leds something like 1K 5 watts resistor to reduce the light, this is for the parking light, you have to use a pair of diodes to separe the two points, I can make you a diagram if you like, the most easy way is, use 5mm 120 degrees Leds to the parking light and 5mm 20 degrees Leds for the stop, you can use around of 20 Leds for each funtion and side, I mean, 40 Leds in eash side, that will be a very good amount of light... For the white Leds you can use the 20 degrees Leds and run it with a 220 ohm resistor for three Leds in serie... Put the all you can... :)

SemiMan

Banned