Unique Titanium
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help on tapping 300V DC out from 12-220V power Inverter

Default Help on tapping 300V DC out from 12-220V power Inverter

To build a 260W UHP short arc spotlight, I need to feed the ballast 300-350V DC.

I am trying to to tap the High DC out from my 12V DC-220V AC power inverter.
    rated 350W.

Here is a shot of the Power Inverter opened up & you can see the Capacitor with
    450V written on it.

Where do I solder to get the 300-350 DC out of it? Is it possible to tap it from the top side or do I need to take the whole thing out & try to find the 12V DC from the under side?

Some kind of drawing would be greatly appreciated! I am a noob about circuits.

Thanks for helping!

Last edited by ma_sha1; 04-02-2011 at 10:11 AM.
    My Mods.. http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...5&postcount=78
    Hobby only, I don't do custom mods as a service, thanks for understanding.

Default Re: Help on tapping 450V DC out from 12-220V power Inverter

The "450V" on the cap is a rating not a voltage that is present in the cap. It just means that the cap is rated at up to 450 Volts. There is no voltage higher than 220 Volt in your power supply.

Edit to add that for your PS to even have 220 Volts, the mains suppling it have to be 220 Volts. If your PS is hooked up to 110 Volts, then that is the highest voltage that is available.

Dave
    Last edited by 45/70; 03-26-2011 at 11:20 AM. Reason: Added edit

Eh, on second, thought your refering to an inverter, not a power supply. In that case the highest voltage available is ~ 220 Volts.

Dave

Thanks, but this has been done before.
    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...o-120-Watt-UHP

Unfortunately, he didn't post details on how he tapped 300V DC out of the inverter.
    For my Power Inverter,
    The input is 12V DC.
    The output is 220AC, 350W.