A short review of Oveready's Surefire X300 Triple

pee10755

Newly Enlightened
I wanted to write a short review and post some beam shots on the Oveready Surefire X300 triple conversion. I purchased the light a few weeks ago. I was able to get one of the five that Tom built. The price initially seemed high, but after considering that he needed to buy a $300 light before he even started the modifications it became reasonable. I work in law enforcement and use the light on my Sig 226R in a patrol function. I purchased the light for handgun use specifically. The lights unique characteristics excel on that weapon platform. For long guns I still like the V3 Triple in a 9P host.

If you look at the dynamics of gunfights with handguns you find that they are very fast, very close range, and involve a few rounds fired. The purpose of a light on this platform for me is to give me as much information as possible in the shortest period of time. I want to firstly and most importantly identify my threat. Next, I want to know everything about them, what is in their lunge area, and where their friends are located. This requires a light with exceptional output and wide beam pattern. A tightly focused beam accomplishes the identity problem, but when the eyes adjust to the hotspot I loose the other information without moving the light around. This is not good when I am trying to cover a threat.

Based on that logic I find the X300 conversion to provide a well thought out balance of output and beam profile. I would like the light to have better heat sinking and runtime, but to achieve the main objective that is just not possible in this compact of a light. I think the trade off is prudent for a handgun platform.