Repair advice for Inoled 20+

southherogrease

Newly Enlightened
I'm an electrical newbie, so be gentle on me.

My inoled 20+ light ceased functioning a short time ago. I think that one of the leads from my Schmidt hub came loose and may have touched the other perhaps shorting something out. I've tried the stuff below and now need advice. Thanks.

• I've confirmed that the hub makes voltage.
  • I've confirmed continuity in the supply wire that leads from the hub to the light.
  • Prior to taking the light apart, I tested continuity with the supply wire connected to the light and found none (with the switch in both positions).
  • I took the light apart and didn't see anything obviously burnt.
  • The wires that feed the LED broke free of their solder points. I'm able to read voltage on these wires with the switch on and the leads connected to the hub.
  • I tested continuity across the LED and found none. I was thinking that was my issue until I bought a cheapy LED from Radioshack and found no continuity across that either.
Again, thanks for any advice.

Steve K

Flashlight Enthusiast
I doubt that anything bad would happen if the two dynamo wires shorted. The loose LED wires seem to be the problem. Do you have any pictures of this?

Offhand, I'd suggest returning it to the vendor that you bought it from. That's going to be the most reliable fix. Plan B would be to try fixing the wiring yourself. How's your soldering? ;)

As far as testing LEDs is concerned, your best bet is with the "diode check" feature on most multimeters. The meter will produce a few milliamps of current and then display the voltage across the diode. On LEDs, this is usually enough to dimly light the LED when you put the positive lead on the anode, and negative lead on the cathode.

regards,

Steve K.

southherogrease

Newly Enlightened