Planet Bike Blinky "3" 3 LED Taillight

BrianMc

Enlightened
I have no experience with that particular light. It looks to be a red cover over bare LEDs. That allows the light from the LEDs to cover their normal wide angle dilluting their ouput per unit area. Better lights use reflectors or more usually, optic lenses to concentrate the output into a beam that can be seen farther away. Small weak bike lights get lost in tail lights of vehicles. IF you ride in the times near dawn and dusk, weak lights wont work well.

Planet bike has a new Turbo Superflash. Mine are awaiting the completion of my order before being shipped and I will report on them. I am betting my life on those and the new PDW light which are daylight visible.

BrianMc

Enlightened
Been away. First chance to reply. I hope it works out for you. I feel better about your purchase. There are no guarantees when it comes to drivers NOT seeing us (they miss school busses fer cryin' out loud!), but these lights look like they will help good drivers not screw up.

Expect new lights as soon as fenders are in and order is shipped. Also working out the video camera and editing. Should be able to document these pretty well, but based on the older Radbot 1000, the new Turbo looks very good. One goes on my helmet to replace a PBSF that is almost invisible in the day. It looks like the Tuebo and new PDW light are both nice advances.

PS Where in Ontario? Raised near Hamiltom. high shool in Brantford, BS at Watterloo, MSc at U of G and a couple of years in Ottawa. Coming that way for a wedding soon.

Last edited:

Dry-cell

Enlightened
I watched the videos on YouTube for both the Radbot 1000, and SuperFlash Turbo, their both good choices.

Which fenders did you buy?, are they clip-ons?.

I'm from Cornwall, Ontario.

Ziemas

Enlightened