New Peak 5 Million candlepower spotlight

The_Police

Enlightened
I got this Peak 5 million candlepower rechargeable spotlight as a gift at my high school senior prom. ( Sorry about the small pics)
Enjoy :)
c4e2bb50.jpg

d5ed88dc.jpg

e11b8bc5.jpg

9d8f0383.jpg

I even got some beamshots for those of you that are like me and love beamshot pics. ;D I can see the reflection of a stop sign that is 1 mile away from me.

61a8d9fb.jpg

1b80113f.jpg

omar

Newly Enlightened
That's pretty incredible, 1 mile away? I'm new to flashlights (high end) is this a fairly common capability?

The_Police

Enlightened
Yes, if you have a really bright light (led or incandescent) and a parabolic, smooth, reflector.(please add more info to this if needed) :)
This spotlight is just a baby when you compare it to the 20 million candlepower lights...

Groundhog

Newly Enlightened
Nice that they give you a little extra LED boost there right above the reflector - just in case you need 5,000,001 candlepower.

The_Police

Enlightened
Yeah, It's nice if I want to just have enough light to see something up close, then I don't have to blind myself with the incandescent light... :)

Ra

Flashlight Enthusiast
That's pretty incredible, 1 mile away? I'm new to flashlights (high end) is this a fairly common capability?

No, its not a fairly common capability.. But stop signs are known to be very retro reflective, so can be seen more easily.
Even when it has a decent reflector quality, the actual output can not be much more than 350,000 cp, so a decent throw up to 750 meters can be expected.
The max luminance (surface brightness) of the Halogen bulb stands in the way of high throw..

Regards,

Ra.

The_Police

Enlightened
So does that mean I'm lucky that my light can make things reflect from 1 mile away?? If the stop sign is reflecting, it's obviously throwing some amount of light that far. It also makes coyote's and coons eye's reflect from nearly 1 mile away too... :D

Ra

Flashlight Enthusiast