Quark mini AA R5 and 14500 batteries...

mikez104

Newly Enlightened
I'm very new to higher end flashlights and would like to purchase a quark mini aa. I have been reading and it looks like some folks are using 14500 rechargeable lithium ion batteries to achieve much higher output. I'd like to do this but on the 4 sevens site it says "do not use lithium-ion or other batteries that exceed 1.5V". Can I really do this? If so, any precautions that must be followed when using the lithium cells?

Thanks!

fields_mj

Newly Enlightened