LED MCPCB Stars and other shapes General Information Thread

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi, At various times, people look for information on LED mounting, in particular on MCPCBs and often in star or other formats.

I thought it might be a good idea to have one thread that concentrated this accumulation of information, links, properties, and experiences with various MCPCBs and stars.

This is intended to be more of an information accumulation thread, not a detailed discussion about whether or not stars and MCPCBs are the optimum way to mount an LED.

Nonetheless, I have had some mixed experiences with commerical stars and will post this learning curve here for people to see. Perhaps others will as well.

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
Opulent Stars

I needed to solder some high CRI 400K Rebels onto stars for a project, and Future carried these stars so I bought them at the same time. The price is quite low - I think something like $ 0.50 / each, so I bought them for practice work.

I reflowed them using a frying pan and professional grade Sn/Pb/ Ag solder paste, at just a high enough temperature to flow the solder, plus boil off the flux. I did not measure the actualy soldering temperature, instead, I slowly heated up the pan until a small dab of solder paste in the pan melted.

Results
- Of course, my technique improved over time, so the yield improved as well
- The boards have a nasty habit of delaminating, and the surface insulator literally chars during use
- A second reflow / rework is nearly impossible
- I cannot imagine that these boards would hold up to no-lead soldering

Thermal results
- No real technical data
- I am only driving the Rebels at 500ma for this application, so the heat generation is low
- Nonetheless, I expected the star to get a bit warmer than it did under use, rather than virtually no warming
- The stars were connected to a rather large heat spreader setup, but still - seemed like the heat was not moving much

Wiring