Novatac 120T mod

fl0t

Enlightened
Yesterday I took apart my Novatac 120T because for quite some time I have been wanting to mod this light.
Now I have a light without driver and LED, and I would like to mount a new driver and LED.

My inspiration comes from the following mod made by DarkZero:

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?226267-Novatac-amp-HDS-EDC-SSC-P7-D2Flex-Mods

I'm new to modding so I need some help on some ideas.
I want this to be as bright as it can be on the palm of your hand. I was thinking on using an XM-L T6 LED, no matter the runtime.
I would like to use this light with 1 or 2 CR123 primaries, so it should be able to handle 6V.

The only parts that I have right now are:

IMG_2275.JPG

IMG_2273.JPG

IMG_2269.JPG

I also have an HDS 17670 Battery Tube so I can use 2 CR123s on this light.
I might also need another reflector. I don't want to modify the original reflector just to find out that I did it wrong.

Please post here all your thoughts: is it possible? am I nuts? runtime speculations, driver and LED recommendations, etc.

bluecrow76

Enlightened
After seeing darkzero do his, I had to have one. I posted about it here. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that light!!! I have it on my every day along with a Surefire E2L. The two make a great combination. I don't have any XM-L lights but I would imagine its more efficient than the P7.

I had a local machine shop open up the emitter hole on the heat sink. I would imagine if you could find an XM-L mounted on a small board, you could have the board downsized or the hole opened large enough to fit it in there.

The only piece I don't see in your pictures is the contact board that was on the back of the light engine... do you still have it? If not you're going to have to fabricate a new contact board, which might be a royal pain.

Good luck and keep us posted on progress! :twothumbs

fl0t

Enlightened
That's a nice work bluecrow76! I would very much like to see some comparison shots.