Protected or unprotected

Lightfoot98

Newly Enlightened
Just pulled the trigger in a LumintopTD15, and after considerable searching,
could not find anything on the regulation circuit as to whether it will cut off at low
voltage like a protection circuit.

Only thing they say is "Use cree XP-G R5 regulated to maximize output and runtime".

Should I just go ahead and use protected cells or what???

I have a bucketfull of unprotected's (18650's) but only 4 protected cells.

Yes! Yes I'm a NOOB when it comes to these Flashlights.

Last edited:

ebow86

Flashlight Enthusiast
I can't think of any good reason to use unprotected cells when protected cells are so widely available and affordable.

old4570

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hmmm , Interesting .

Protected VS unprotected ...

Why would you use a unprotected cell ..

1/ Because you have a pile of them ?
2/ Higher discharge rates possibly
3/ Flashlight has over discharge protection
4/ Easier to source quality cells
5/ Cheaper quality cells
6/ No protection circuit issues [ electronics are never 100% fault proof ]
7/ Shorter cell length
8/ less Diameter
9/ Use salvaged laptop batteries
10/

ebow86

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hmmm , Interesting .

5/ Cheaper quality cells
7/ Shorter cell length
8/ less Diameter
10/

Still learning alot about batteries and chargers etc. From what I've gathered so far most of the advice I've seen was to avoid unprotected cells and only use quality protected cells. Your post almost makes it seem like the unprotected cells are the better choice in some cases. I never thought an unprotected cell would have that many advantages over a protected one. Guess I've got alot to learn.

Last edited:

HKJ

Flashaholic

5/ Cheaper quality cells
7/ Shorter cell length
8/ less Diameter
10/

2/ There is a reason for limiting current, cells can not deliver any amount of current in a safe way.
3/ Very few flashligts has overdischarge protection.
4/ RediLast and AW is not difficult to get.