Custom 1D Mag Build with Neutral XML and Rebel Reflector

Norcimbus

Newly Enlightened
This is a silver mag I have cut down to 1D size (7.625" long), which has the following modifications:

- Rebel deep reflector with heatsink I machined to fit rebel reflector in incan mag bodies with serial number starting in "D" (like this one)
- XML neutral T5 flux bin, 4500K color temp on 20mm star
- shiningbeam 3-mode driver 2.8 amp max current on high
- 22 gauge silver plated teflon coat wiring
- delrin sleeve for 1 18650 snug fit
- deep tailcap mod with aluminum contact plug for 18650
- UCL glass lens

This mod is inspired by many of the modders here on CPF that shorten mags. I am just getting into modding and building flashlights, and this is my second shorty mag mod. Although the triple XML mods seem very popular, I wanted a light with some throw, and from what I've read the Mag rebel reflector is a good choice for throw with fewer beam artifacts than a stock reflector (for an incan host, which this is). I started with shortening the body and re-threading the tail, as well as deepening the tailcap to allow the spring to sit near the bottom. I also made a contact that fits in the tailcap spring to ensure a good circuit when using an 18650. I then turned a delrin sleeve for an 18650 that fits snug to prevent rattle. The most interesting part was designing the heatsink so that the rebel reflector will focus properly. I ended up with a design that is about 1.25" long, with a deep well. I made this one to fit a 20mm star with a snug fit for centering. It is attached with arctic alumina thermal epoxy. The bottom of the heatsink has a shallow cavity to fit the driver, which is a shiningbeam 2.8A 3-mode. I have not decided yet if I will pot the driver in epoxy or just attach it to the heatsink with arctic alumina. And that's about it. I don't think there is anything too original about this mod, except perhaps fitting the incan mag host with a rebel reflector (this may be common too