Magicshine MJ-872, 1600 Lumen, LED Head Lamp

stollman

Enlightened
Magicshine MJ-872, (4) CREE LED Light
By: Stollman
th_MainPic.jpg

About the Author:
I have been using sports lights for over twenty years for various applications including bike riding at night and caving. I am also familiar with higher-end lighting systems manufactured by Princeton Tec, StenLight, Petzl, NiteRider, Light & Motion, and most recently MagicShine. I am always looking for bright light systems to support my other hobby of shooting video at night using a helmet camera. Shooting video at night requires a bright light source, since most helmet cameras today use a CMOS chip and are configured to record video during normal daylight hours.

Review:
One day as I was Googling the Internet for lighting systems, I came across the Magicshine MJ-872, which is new for 2011. I decided to pick one up to see how well it performed. The basic kit comes with the Light Head, Lithium Battery, Battery Charger, Manual, and rubber O-Rings that are used to attach the light head to your handle bars. Other available accessories include O-Rings, Lithium Battery, Charger, 3' Extension Cable, Tail Light, Y-Cable, and two different types of Helmet Strap Mounts. If you plan on wearing the light on your helmet, you'll need to purchase the 3' extension cable and one of the Helmet Strap Mounts.

Light Head