5mm AA Simple Build

TyJo

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would like to attempt my own flashlight build. In a nutshell I want to make a potted, reliable, waterproof (IPX8ish), twisty switch, AA powered, 1 mode low output, floody/candle light. I have limited funds and no experience so I think a 5mm LED would be appropriate, I was considering the cree 5mm leds which I have created a separate thread for (click). I'm not sure when I will have time/funds to do this but I definitely want to do it. Here is what I am looking at/what I could use some help with.

1. Electronics: I want this thing to be 1 mode twisty, between 1-10 lumens and be pretty efficient. I'd like power outage candle/long runtimes type deal. I need help here. I can solder but I don't know what to put between the led and battery, etc.
2. LED: (addressed in another thread, feel free to post here). Preferences in order: long life quality led, durability, efficiency, good beam, warm tint.
3. Body/twist switch: I think I can handle this. I'm pretty sure I can rig something up going to the hardware store a few times. It will probably be PVC pipe or something equally as hideous but it will be tough enough and meet my criteria.
4. Potting: devcon 2 ton epoxy.
5. Power: 1xAA Eneloop/alkaline is preferred. If efficiency/build simplicity can be increased by going to 2 or 3xAA I'll go that route.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would like to attempt my own flashlight build. In a nutshell I want to make a potted, reliable, waterproof (IPX8ish), twisty switch, AA powered, 1 mode low output, floody/candle light.I have limited funds and no experience so I think a 5mm LED would be appropriate, I was considering the cree 5mm leds which I have created a separate thread for (click). I'm not sure when I will have time/funds to do this but I definitely want to do it. Here is what I am looking at/what I could use some help with.