Aspheric flashlight design question -- reflector or no reflector?

tylernt

Enlightened
With the holidays coming up I thought I'd gift something homemade, so I'm going to make an flashlight (of course). I'll be doing this from scratch on my lathe, with an aspheric lens to increase throw. I'm a total noob when it comes to optics though, as I've never even held an aspheric flashlight in my hands before. I've got a couple of questions:

How far should I mount the lens from the LED emitter? Or is this determined by the focal length of the lens? What happens if I mount it too close, will my beam width still get tightened up a little bit?

Can I just leave the space between the emitter and the lens empty, or do I need to add a reflector as with a traditional flashlight? If a reflector is required, can I use a simple conical shape rather than a parabolic?

Thanks in advance for any advice...

LED4LYF

Newly Enlightened
I have been out of the flashlight scene for quite a while, but yes it all depends on the focal length of the lense. They will all be different. If the lense is to close, you will not get the nice tight sqaure emmiter beam. If the lense is to far away the same thing will happen. The best thing to do is to have an adjustabe head that way you can focus on the object you are pointing at.

Last edited:

tylernt

Enlightened
I have been out of the flashlight scene for quite a while, but yes it all depends on the focal length of the lense. They will all be different. If the lense is to close, you will not get the nice tight sqaure emmiter beam. If the lense is to far away the same thing will happen.
Fuzzy is fine, I'm not looking to throw to the moon, just tighten up the beam width/angle a bit.

The best thing to do is to have an adjustabe head that way you can focus on the object you are pointing at.