First Mag Mod, Got Some Questions

seven11

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie to modding lights and want to attempt my first mod of a 2 d-cell mag. I've read about 15 different mag mod posts on here (including all of ma_sha1's :bow:), but still had a few questions.

Here's a quick breakdown of what I want to use:

Host: 2 D-cell Mag (with the T8 torx screw:shakehead)
LED: SST-90 Red http://www.luminus.com/products/datasheets/PDS-001342_Luminus_SST-90, Product Datasheet.pdf
Cooling: SST-90 Heatsink from BriteLumens http://www.britelumens.com/
Batteries: Four 1.2v sub-C 1500mAh NiCd batteries (Using PVC sleeve) http://www.megabatteries.com/item_details2.asp?id=13725&cat_id=226&uid=1430

I plan to direct drive the LED and hope to get around 600 lumens. My questions are:
  1. Is there a better battery option to run 6A to the LED? The forward voltage listed on the spec sheet is 2.2v.
  2. Will the stock switch be able to handle 6amps?
  3. Has anyone used the Mag reflector made by Phoenix Electroform products?
  4. What is the difference, if any, between the stock reflector (LED version) and the rebel SMO reflector?
  5. Where can I get a sweet bezel for this thing?
Thanks for any insight you can provide. I'm stoked about doing this build.

yazovyet

Enlightened
So you want to put 4x1.2 volt = 4.8 volts directly into an LED that can handle ~2.2 volts? Unless I am missing something, I can't say that's a good idea. I think you should look into getting a driver (or a roll of 1000 LEDs).

For 6A I think you would want to look up some of the switch mods, best I can say is that 2.8A hasn't melted mine yet.

Lastly: why red?

seven11

Newly Enlightened
So you want to put 4x1.2 volt = 4.8 volts directly into an LED that can handle ~2.2 volts? Unless I am missing something, I can't say that's a good idea. I think you should look into getting a driver (or a roll of 1000 LEDs).