Surefire Help! Please!

MoparBarbarian

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone,

I'm new to CPF and new to flashlights. I bought a Surefire G3 from Midway USA and I absolutely love it. I use this thing everyday for anything I can. The only issue I have with it is that it is just too expensive to run all the time.

So what I want to know is there anyway to make this a little more efficient? I was thinking of using a HO-9 (9V, 320 Lumens) High Output Reflector Module and maybe using CR123A rechargeable batteries.

Does anyone know if this is a good idea or can point me to the right direction?

I would really appreciate anyone's input.

Thanks,

jh333233

Flashlight Enthusiast
2* 17500 rechargable helps you, avoid any chinesefire brand cells whenever its possible
You CANT use cr123a rechargable on HO-9 in G3 as 3S cell goes 11v+ which :poof the bulb

cm_mtb

Enlightened
As mentioned, three rechargeable CR123s will kill the bulb. 3.7V 17500 rechargeables, which are 1.5x the length of a CR123, are what you need to use. You can actually use two of these cells with the stock bulb because, in use, they have a similar voltage to three CR123s under load. This is what's fun about 3xCR123 lights: you can swap between rechargeables and primaries while running the same bulb. I use two AW 17500 cells in my G3 with the stock P90. It is an excellent setup, with a good balance between brightness and runtime.

Here are the cells I use: http://www.lighthound.com/AW-17500-Protected-Rechargeable-Lithium-Battery_p_99.html

You'll need a charger, too. Here's the one I use: http://www.lighthound.com/AW-17500-Protected-Rechargeable-Lithium-Battery_p_99.html You can get a nicer charger, like the Pila, but this one works okay for me.

ETA: Also, mdocod's ican/lithium-ion compatibility guide is a great resource.

Last edited:

HotWire

Flashlight Enthusiast
You can buy a 12v bulb assembly and use 3 RCR123 batteries. Be sure to use AW batteries. (There are also LED solutions.)