A couple of quick mag 3d aspherical questions

Peter mport

Newly Enlightened
I want to build my first 3d aspherical lensed maglite but im new to all this and have a couple of questions i need answered, I already have the maglite and a Dealextreme SKU 12834 lense is on its way to me as we speak but i dont know where will i find the measurements for the best focal point.

I have searched and read on here that cree leds work best with aspherical lenses due to a narrower beam pattern but i want to know which type of cree will work best and what driver to use with what i have and where to get a heat sink that will post to the UK.

I would prefer to source as many parts from dealextreme as possible to try and keep costs down.

JacobJones

Enlightened
A Cree XRE R2 will work best. Because the maglite head screws in and out you shouldn't have a problem getting the led focussed right. I have that dealextreme lense and the focal length is around 3 centimetres.

For the heatsink there is britelumens or H22A, http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?310770-********-H22A-Heatsinks-******** here's a link to H22A's sales thread, they're a bit cheaper than britelumens. http://www.britelumens.com/emittersandparts.html and this ones a link to britelumens website.

There are several drivers that will work, this is the one I used DX SKU 6190 it's ok but because it's probably intended for Li-ion it has a stupid low voltage warning thing, when using 3 1.2-1.5 volt batteries it starts blinking and goes dim rendering the torch almost unusable whilst the batts still have a fair few minutes juice left. Just because I chose this driver doesn't mean it's the right one to use, I only got that one because I couldn't find a better one at the time. Look for a boost and buck driver, without low voltage warning.