Dimmer question

run4jc

Flashlight Enthusiast
I searched but couldn't find an answer to this one - sorry if one is already posted out there!

I have an 'over stove' microwave light that I plan to mod to LEDs. Don Mcleish posted a photo essay of re-fitting his home with LED lighting over HERE - near the bottom of the web page are photos of his similar lighting mod.

My question - what would happen if I used a 'non dimming' driver with this 2 level light switch? I don't mind coughing up the extra $$ for a driver that will dim, but the space I have to work with is limited and the AC drivers I find that will dim are pushing the envelope as related to the space I have to mount one.

Seems to me that I remember reading that in this case, a simple 2 level switch (Hi - Lo - Off) would simply function "Hi-Hi-Off" if a non dimming driver was connected, and that would be perfectly okay with me - we never use the 'lo' setting any way.

I'm not an electrician or engineer (obviously) so I hope someone with knowledge of these things can keep me from blowing something up! Incidentally, my plan is to mount 4 warm XPGs (3.0Vf at 350mA) on 20mm stars, connect them to a 700mA driver in 2/2 parallel. I'll use a 12 watt 700mA driver, so the wattage should be no issue at around 4-5 watts.

I appreciate any help! I'd like to order this stuff today for an install on Saturday.

Thanks! lovecpf:bow:

LEDninja

Flashlight Enthusiast
Buy a 2nd driver.
Use 2 switches. One switch has a driver and 1/2 the LEDs.
Turn 1 switch on: 1/2 the LEDs light up - low.
Turn 2 switches on: All the LEDs light up - high.

If you have a different number of LEDs in each circuit say 2 and 4.
Switch 1 - 2 LEDs low.
Switch 2 - 4 LEDs medium.
Both - 6 LEDs high.

I got the idea reading how Cree do their dimming of some fixtures.
http://www.creeledlighting.com/Libraries/Recommended_Dimmers/CR_Troffer-Step_Dim.sflb.ashx

Easytim just bought small LED bulbs for the existing fixtures in his stovetop.