• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

How many drops have your McGizmo lights sustained?

pjandyho

Flashlight Enthusiast
Some of you here would have known that I am a relative newbie when it comes to McGizmo lights. I usually do a ton of research on lights that costs a lot. Before buying my first HDS clicky, I spent an entire week reading through all the past threads related to HDS. But somehow I did not do much of a research before buying my first McGizmo. Read a thread here and there and gathered enough relevant information before I emailed Don with my order. I think I bought it because it just looked so beautiful and I was attracted by the beauty of both the Haiku and the Mule. No regrets at all for the purchase as I truly love these beauties.

Now that I have these lights, I am beginning to wonder how tough they really are. With HDS, they are all potted to ensure toughness and reliability, but not on McGizmo lights. According to Don, he left the potting out to ensure ease of replacements and interchangeability. I already knew that before I bought the lights. The question is, how tough then are these beauties? How much impact can it sustain? Is potting overhyped? I have yet to see anyone having an issue with their McGizmo lights except with reflectors shifting slightly when dropped head down.

I don't abuse my lights, not even the cheapest ones that cost almost next to nothing, but I have been getting clumsy with my fingers lately. I have dropped my lights more times in the last few months than I could have done in the last few years combined. I am not particular on the exterior surface but am curious how my Haikus and Mule would hold up to repeated drops due to the lack of potting on the electronics.

If you could share your experience and even photos of your beat up McGizmos, that would be great! Many thanks!

Andy

Tim W

Enlightened