Need help choosing perfect flashlight, better than LedLenser P5R

marcnyc

Newly Enlightened
Hello guys, I'm new here and I am hoping you guys can 'shine a light' on the right path ;-)

I am a sound engineer and I do FOH on several tours.
I am looking to buy a flashlight that has the following features:

- LED
- uses one AA battery
- has focus system (for long distance focused beam and short distance wide spill)
- dual output (full power and half power)
- the smaller the better
- the more lumens the better (at least 200)
- ideally rechargeable
- under $100

Any recommendations?

I have just purchased the LedLenser P5R and I like the look/size/feel of it and the features (intelligent switching between full/half power) but the things I didn't like are the focus is not very narrow when it's all the way in the distance, it uses a proprietary battery, the main and only button is a bit hard to push with my big thumb)

I am sure you guys will have plenty of recommendations for me so I am throwing this out there in the hopes you can give me some models to check out because I will have to return this P5R very shortly in order to get my money back if I decide to buy something else.

Thanks a lot for your help.

dheim

Newly Enlightened
i could be wrong, but you basically described a Led Lenser, with some requirement that left me a bit perplexed...
1) AA powered lights (unless you mean AA-size including 14500) usually don't reach 200 lm. the zebralight SC51 and SC80 do, but they're floody lights with little throw
2) focusable lights are not so common (LL is the only brand that makes them in a wide range), but - unless you buy some torch with aspherical lenses (pure throwers, perfectly useless at less than 20-30 meters) you'll hardly find a tighter focus than on LL...

try the M1, is small and quite versatile, but i'm not sure wether it suits your needs better than the P5R or not.

marcnyc

Newly Enlightened