2 AAA Mini Maglite with Xenon or LED. Why won't they make one.

ericjohn

Enlightened
I have a Pelican Mity Lite 1900, that I have been carrying around for the past few days. I have been pondering to myself for a few years now "Why can't Maglite improve their 2AAA penlight?". It takes vacuum bulbs instead of Xenon or Krypton bulbs (like its older Mini Maglite brother). I have damaged the circuitry of many of them trying to fit them with the 2AA Krypton bulbs, and won't even go there with the Xenon bi-pins. It would also be awesome if they came out with an LED model (they have an LED for most of the D Sizes except 5 and 6; they have 2 and 3 AA LED models; they have 3 AAA LED models which remind me of the crappy flashlights from china; they have 2 and 3 C size LED ML series and they even have a Mag Charger LED which is smaller than the original mag charger. It seems that Tony forgot about the 2AAA mini mags and I think it's a damn shame. I have written the company many times asking them to make a xenon upgrade for that model, you know something comparable to the Pelican Mity Lite. If Pelican can engineer a bulb module that uses xenon technology and is driven on 2 AAA cells that works beautifully, why can't mag do the same thing with a bi pin bulb. Are there any 3rd party upgrades? Just my thoughts...questions comments complaints.

Last edited:

Robin24k

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think it's a lack of demand, AA batteries have about three times the energy as AAA, and it's not that much bigger. You won't be able to make a very bright LED 2AAA light, maybe around 70 lumens max (compared to 200+ for the Mini Maglite Pro).

Light Sabre

Enlightened
I just got home from Sports Authority on Broadway in Tucson. They had a 2AAA minit-mag LED and a 2D Mag Pro LED.

FL1 specs on the 2AAA Mini were: 84 lumens, 5h:45m runtime, $18.

FL1 specs on the 2D Mag Pro were: 274 lumens, 12h:45m runtime, $40.