Click to visit Lumintop new flashlights!
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 107

Thread: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

  1. #1
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,642

    Default Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Now that I have secured one of these, I would like to confirm the programming please.

    If I want to use the 2nd configuration slot to program in the higher power levels (using IMR cells), I first select PU1 and then set the knob to P2 while the light is flashing.

    Then I do a PU4 to program in the knob positions.

    So, lets say I want to make P6, 3A (3000ma), then:-

    1 - While the light is flickering, move knob to P6
    2 - Set knob to P1 (home) and light will flicker again
    3 - Click three times ( ie pass 1, 10 & land on 100), then dial back & forward 30 times for 3000
    4- Set knob to P0

    If I leave things like this, then the 2nd Configuration slot will have stored this setting for P6 and the other positions for this slot will be the same as the default settings in the 1st (Default) configuration slot, correct?
    Last edited by easilyled; 12-08-2011 at 11:15 PM.
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  2. #2
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,335

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    That sounds about right.
    Then to go back to the stock slot 1, you PU1, then to P1.
    Easy peasy
    If only there were a quick indicator as to what slot you were in.

  3. #3
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,642

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by Launch Mini View Post
    That sounds about right.
    Then to go back to the stock slot 1, you PU1, then to P1.
    Easy peasy
    If only there were a quick indicator as to what slot you were in.
    Yes, I agree.
    Also, to save having to count 30 times for 3A, if there was a position for 1000ma (ie P5), it would only have to be done 3 times.
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  4. #4

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by easilyled View Post
    Yes, I agree.
    Also, to save having to count 30 times for 3A, if there was a position for 1000ma (ie P5), it would only have to be done 3 times.
    Last edited by Data; 12-08-2011 at 09:15 PM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    On step #4 above the light will reach the power level you have programed (if it can) and then it will sweep the emitter 4 times.

    I want to point out that if you put in a set of batteries that cannot handle the power output for the current level you are trying to program, the light will just set there and continue to try. Do not let this situation persist. If you see the light can not cal at a certain setting, take out the batteries and do a PU3 (factory cal). Then recharge your batteries or replace them and start again.


    Cheers
    Dave

  6. #6

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Hmmmmm sounding simple but my vocabulary pu1, p1, pu3 guess I must re word my search to 007 programing for dummys

  7. #7
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,335

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    PU1 = Power UP , Knob in P1
    When the SPY is OFF, that is P0.
    SO, to PU1
    You pop the battery back off, put knob into position 1, then reinsert that batteries.
    Then you follow the next step, Ie select P1 - P4 ( P= knob posiition).
    Keep playing, if all else fails, you simply take the back off, click the knob 3 times ( PU3), reinsert batteries, and wait for the light to reset to factory (for the slot you are in)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by Launch Mini View Post
    PU1 = Power UP , Knob in P1
    When the SPY is OFF, that is P0.
    SO, to PU1
    You pop the battery back off, put knob into position 1, then reinsert that batteries.
    Then you follow the next step, Ie select P1 - P4 ( P= knob posiition).
    Keep playing, if all else fails, you simply take the back off, click the knob 3 times ( PU3), reinsert batteries, and wait for the light to reset to factory (for the slot you are in)
    Thanks Launch got the lingo, Found the manual thread. Took me a second to figure click the knob 3 times = rotate from off clockwise to third detent guess I hear click and my brain is programed to push a clicky

    From what I read in the directions it would appear that I would need the batteries with the discharge rate before I could program high output

  9. #9

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by CMAG View Post
    Thanks Launch got the lingo, Found the manual thread. Took me a second to figure click the knob 3 times = rotate from off clockwise to third detent guess I hear click and my brain is programed to push a clicky

    From what I read in the directions it would appear that I would need the batteries with the discharge rate before I could program high output
    Correct. No IMR, no 3000mA.

    With fresh primary batteries you may get up over 1500mA but I do not know how much more. Please watch for the programming to finish with the sweep.


    Cheers
    Dave

  10. #10

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by Data View Post
    Correct. No IMR, no 3000mA.

    With fresh primary batteries you may get up over 1500mA but I do not know how much more. Please watch for the programming to finish with the sweep.


    Cheers
    Dave
    Would 750ma AW rcr work?
    How do I figure the discharge rate required from my battery's to get the 3000ma there are unknown variables to me such as volts, watts and are these calculated from input or output side of driver?

  11. #11

    Default

    The batteries need to be able to source 2A with ease. This is while keeping the voltage up at a 3.75V level. That is almost 8 watts from each battery.

    I do not know how many different kinds of batteries can do that but rechargeable bats are the only ones that stand a chance.

    The primary bats can almost get the 2A but when they do the voltage drops so low that the light asks even more current of them.

    The IMR batteries are only able to source about 550mAH. You will notice that batteries that can source the high current are not big on storing lots of energy.

    There are a lot of people here on the forum that know about batteries. What do the experts have to say?

    Cheers
    Dave

  12. #12

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Thanks Dave, so 550ma batteries would need to be rated at 4C discharge rate


    I did read over the (well written) instructions thread quite a few times and got a good grasp but one grey area so.....

    One more? in step 3 above rotate back and forward 3 clicks from P1 to 100ma(P4) (30x100ma for 3000ma) then return to P0 wait for flashing to stop or select another P# to set up wile flashing in P0, also called keying in, in the instruction thread.

    So when I rotate back is that back to P1 ? and is there a flash or some signal in P4 or P1 before i go back and/or forward each of the 30 times?
    Last edited by CMAG; 12-10-2011 at 04:46 AM.

  13. #13
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,642

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by Data View Post
    The batteries need to be able to source 2A with ease. This is while keeping the voltage up at a 3.75V level. That is almost 8 watts from each battery.

    I do not know how many different kinds of batteries can do that but rechargeable bats are the only ones that stand a chance.

    The primary bats can almost get the 2A but when they do the voltage drops so low that the light asks even more current of them.

    The IMR batteries are only able to source about 550mAH. You will notice that batteries that can source the high current are not big on storing lots of energy.

    There are a lot of people here on the forum that know about batteries. What do the experts have to say?

    Cheers
    Dave
    There are 18350 IMR cells available with a real capacity of 750mah. They are a little thicker than the 16340 cells (obviously). The creation of a dedicated 18350-007-XML would accomodate them and perhaps also allow a little more heat-sinking.
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  14. #14
    Flashaholic* chipwillis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,559

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by easilyled View Post
    There are 18350 IMR cells available with a real capacity of 750mah. They are a little thicker than the 16340 cells (obviously). The creation of a dedicated 18350-007-XML would accomodate them and perhaps also allow a little more heat-sinking.

    I don't think the 18350 will fit in a Spy light.

  15. #15
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,642

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by chipwillis View Post
    I don't think the 18350 will fit in a Spy light.
    I meant that the SPY007 could be made slightly thicker to accommodate the 18350s for greater runtime and heat-sinking for the XM-L version. However, its not really necessary, since the object is not to run it at 3A for a long period.
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  16. #16
    Flashaholic* shado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wild Rose Country
    Posts
    1,182

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by easilyled View Post
    I meant that the SPY007 could be made slightly thicker to accommodate the 18350s for greater runtime and heat-sinking for the XM-L version. However, its not really necessary, since the object is not to run it at 3A for a long period.
    A 007 Fatty
    My Lights__________________________________________________ ___________________________________________

  17. #17

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by easilyled View Post
    I meant that the SPY007 could be made slightly thicker to accommodate the 18350s for greater runtime and heat-sinking for the XM-L version. However, its not really necessary, since the object is not to run it at 3A for a long period.
    Still nice to have run time on tap, But to make A Spy fatter would be a lot of G and M code to write would be close but may be enough meat left to do a off set bore for the 2mm and not mess up the battery cover lock work
    IMO not worth messing with

  18. #18

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by shado View Post
    A 007 Fatty
    I'd like to see a Mini Spy

  19. #19
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,642

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    My settings on the 2nd configuration are 3/15/100/700/1500/3000 ma

    This seems to keep the intervals between the levels fairly even as interpreted by my logarithmic eyes.
    1500ma is probably the most I'll ever need but 3000ma is nice for showing off.
    Who would have thought that such a small Ti light could put out in excess of 500 OTF lumens even a year ago?
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  20. #20
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,335

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    For fun, I set Slot 4 with the last 2 at 1000 then 3000, just to see the HUGE jump in output from the Stock Level 6 to the enhanced level 6

  21. #21

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Please make sure you remember to keep your batteries matched. I mark my cells with a series of numbers and then always keep the pairs together for life. Caution is advised as we are now firmly in the ultra power zone with these cells.

    I did not try a full battery and a dead battery on high for a few seconds to see if it reverse charges. I have never tested it because I do not think the STFu MK-III can reverse charge like an incan. But it never hurts to play.

    Cheers
    Dave

  22. #22

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    FYI

    The first time in the PU1 function on the 007 XM-L will copy all the levels in slot one into slots two, three and four. This never happens again. You may have noticed that it did not cal the first time.

    This is not how the Tri-V worked. I had to change it because it was possible to damage the emitter on the Tri-V the first time into a slot if you did not give it time to cal that slot!!


    Cheers
    Dave

  23. #23
    Flashaholic* Launch Mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,335

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    I ways use matched batteries. All clearly market in pairs.
    Now that I've played I'll turn Max down to 1500

  24. #24

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Is it possible to go over 3a, not that I want to but if I lost track of counting to 30?

  25. #25

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by CMAG View Post
    Is it possible to go over 3a, not that I want to but if I lost track of counting to 30?
    No, you can not put in more than 3000mA.

    You should check what you keyed in with PU5 from time to time to see if you got what you wanted.

    Cheers
    Dave

  26. #26
    *Flashaholic* easilyled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Middlesex, UK
    Posts
    5,642

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    I think this thread should be made a sticky because it contains a lot of useful information about programming and active configurations all in this one thread and it is therefore immediately accessible without having to wade through lots of other threads.
    Last edited by easilyled; 09-10-2012 at 06:50 AM. Reason: spelling
    Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine

  27. #27
    Flashaholic* stoli67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney Austalia
    Posts
    866

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    I was thinking about making a little spread sheet of the power levels for each slot on my 007 and TriV2.

    Anyone have a set of levels for primaries/low power levels to try.

    I have set Slot 4 on each to the ultra-power / max settings but would like to set Slot 3 to low power / primary settings.

    Slot 2 for the tri V2 is for all flood settings
    Slot one for each is default settings
    Last edited by stoli67; 01-19-2013 at 12:47 AM.
    Currently into SPYs....
    My Lights In Detail

  28. #28
    Flashaholic* stoli67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney Austalia
    Posts
    866

    Default Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    I guess what I am asking is what are the maximal levels that a set of primaries will be able to run at... Say a set of surefires.

    I have programmed slot 4 of both my TriV2 and 007 to run at full power - 3000 for position 6 on the 007 and max power for each LED on the TriV2 .
    Currently into SPYs....
    My Lights In Detail

  29. #29

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Quote Originally Posted by stoli67 View Post
    I guess what I am asking is what are the maximal levels that a set of primaries will be able to run at... Say a set of surefires.

    I have programmed slot 4 of both my TriV2 and 007 to run at full power - 3000 for position 6 on the 007 and max power for each LED on the TriV2 .
    When they are new and at 3.2V they can push way over 1500mA to the emitter but it does not last. Primary batteries continually loose voltage and a predictable rate and so loose their power with it.

    If the STFu will cal at a given setting then the battery is supplying the power needed for that setting. But it may be short lived. When the battery can no longer supply the voltage asked of it the converter just lets it "do what it can". This is of course what happens every single time any set of primary batteries gets to the end of life voltage of ~2.8V.

    Anytime you set the power level on your light with a PU3 or a PU4 and the batteries do not have the power to hit the target, you MUST put in new batteries and run the PU3 !!!

    Cheers
    Dave

  30. #30
    Flashaholic* stoli67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney Austalia
    Posts
    866

    Default Re: Programming the SPY007 XM-L

    Thanks Dave


    I rarely use Primaries but thought that I should set up one slot at very low mA. just in case.
    Currently into SPYs....
    My Lights In Detail

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •