Whats a good grill light?

thaugen

Enlightened
I use my Zebralight H51w strapped to my head while grilling. I think an H51c might give slightly better color rendering, but I am happy with my H51w! Happy grilling!

rayman

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would suggest a Zebralight too, as a our flood light. Maybe a warm tint would make the meat more appetizing ;).

rayman

qwertyydude

Flashlight Enthusiast
I do suggest at least a neutral white tint. When I've tried grilling with a cool white led you end up thinking the meat is more done. Get inside and you realize it still needs some more time on the grill.

tbenedict

Enlightened
I've been using my H501W and other neutral/warm lights for this for a few years. Lately I've been looking for a solar powered flood light to put on the wall behind the grill.

The SC51W and Quark Mini high CRI work great and are both easily "lipped". The H501W does great clipped to a shirt.

peterharvey73

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have a Weber Summit 4 burner.
I tried an Energizer Hard Case Headlight, superbly built, with a superbly built-in diffuser, but whenever I turn my head away, my friend, who's also cooking has no illumination.
So I went back to using the Weber's built-in light.

I saw a photo of the bigger Weber Summit 6 burner with two (2) Weber LED lights, so I purchased a second Weber 7516 Grill Out Handle light from eBay.
Each Weber light uses 3xAAA's, so using my newly learnt CPF knowledge, I purchased 6xAAA multi-coloured glitter Eneloop 1.2 volts, and they work superbly.
The original Weber LED light has a grey plastic case, and the beam is very warm in tint, similar to a traditional incandescent lamp.
The new 7516 looks exactly the same, but uses a black plastic case, and the beam has a brighter and cooler tint.
So if I'm really picky, I'd have to buy a third Weber LED light to make things symmetrical.