Rookie Ohm's question...

danielo_d

Enlightened
Rookie Ohm\'s question...

Ok, I'm still a rookie. So I apologize if this has been asked a gazillion times. [That's more than a gabillion, right?] Did a search but didn't really find the answer.
Well, I have done a few newbie mods. One of the 9V ones here. And my first PR Bulb Mod here.

The question I have is, in the few mods I have done, I supplied the power supply and resistor connecting them to a single LED. Very basic and not using any regulation, yet. What I want to know is... what determines at what current/voltage is the LED being driven?

Say I use 6V. [4AA] and a 100 Ohm resistor. At what current/voltage is the LED being driven? 4V at 20mAhs or 3.4V at 30mAh, since both value combinations fit the formula. Does the LED consume as much current as it can? I used LED_Pro to get and verify the values.
Ohms_question.jpg

I guess I can open the circuit and hook up my multimeter as an ampmeter. Just thought you guys could shed some light [pun intended] the subject. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif
Danno

PaulW

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Rookie Ohm\'s question...

The voltage across the LED changes very little over a wide range of current values. For all practical purposes, the LED is being driven at its Vf.

Paul

JSWrightOC

Enlightened

Danno,

The current passing through the LED will depend on its Vf at a given temperature. The Vf of the LED will be slightly different lot to lot, and there is a small temperature gradient (can someone post what this is? I can't remember...).

The simple way to determine current is to divide the voltage drop across the resistor by the value of the resistor. So, in your case, if The Vf of your LED is 3.4V and your supply 6V, that means 2.6V/100ohm=.026A, or 26mA.