LED Evolution...

onalandline

Newly Enlightened
Can someone point me to a thread on this website or another website that lists all the different LEDs used in flashlights from an evolutionary standpoint? I am fairly new to dissecting this information, and would like to educate myself. Thanks.

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are lots of places to read about this on the forum. But LEDs haven't really evolved so much as been redesigned and improved. The main difference between the first Lux1 and the newest Cree/SSC/etc is the ability to work efficiently at higher current.

Try Flashlightreviews, start with the old ones, to see the effects of LED limitations. And it's not like old LEDs go extinct...

idleprocess

Flashaholic
There are two major evolutionary paths of the LED as far as I know:

Indicator / lamp style
(3mm/5mm/10mm and the incandescent T-series equivalences I forget)
The beginnings of the LED packaged it like common incandescent indicator lamps of the time. "Indicator" is an important way to characterize most of these devices since the amount of power they can safely dissipate is pretty minimal (on the order of 100mW or less).

Related developments:
So-called "Piranha" or "Superflux" LED's with a rectangular package and 4 legs to attempt to better dissipate heat

SMD LED's came along with other surface-mount electrical components for backlighting, truly miniaturized indicators, and - with better efficiency and thermal design - general lighting. Some of the SMD LED's on the market bleed into power LED's, described below.

Power LED's