The Fenix-Store

Thread: Colored Key Blanks

Default Colored Key Blanks

Hi all,

Really, really random question here but I have no where else to really ask and Google isn't being friendly for me at the moment...is anyone aware of where I can get colored key blanks?

But not your typical anodized job. I'm after a matte black blank (or matte white), and one that even after the key is cut (or whatever the technical term is) it remains black even on the cut edges.

It's just for kicks, no serious application. I want to get my house keys cut.

Any suggestions or is this a bit of a lost cause?

Cheers,

- Matt

Default Re: Colored Key Blanks

While I have limited knowledge of metallurgy, I would say that finding a metal that would accept a colored pigment without bad side effects would most probably put the cost through the stratosphere.

TL; DR - Your SOL basically
    There are no foolish questions and no man becomes a fool until he has stopped asking questions

Yeah I figured as much. The orange anodizing on my current house keys (obviously done post cut) seems to be holding up well. Might have to look into doing that.

the ally anodized keys have to be cut after ano
    if you really want all over ano,you could diy or send to an anodizer

I think you would have more fun gold plating or cerakoting ?

let us know if you get around to it

Flashaholic*

Black Nickel Plating is a standard process - but I'm not sure which Blanks could be used.

Yeah I'm still looking into it, but cerakoting did come up as a good option.

How about starting with brass blanks -> cut keys, then using some sort of chemical method like these? Reading some reviews online, it sounds like the 'catch' is that the black oxide finish isn't very durable via rubbing.

However I have some old brass cartridge cases that have turned black due to age & environmental exposure and the oxidized finish is absolutely permanent, so I know it's possible.