New Kobalt 500

Socrates67

Newly Enlightened
Back here on the forums after a long time. I just bought a new Kobalt 500 lumen light from Lowes. It is the single LED version, not the 3 LED, and it takes 3 CR123's, and has a high an low mode. I have no experience with 123's, or a light this bright or this brand. Can someone figure out what the drain time/battery life is?

And I noticed that 123 cells are unbelievably expensive, at least at Lowes, $10 for a pack of two. I've been doing research and heard about the explosion dangers if the cells are not matched. I went to Battery Junction and bought some of their matched triple set Titanium's, is this a good way to go for the future so I don't bankrupt myself on batteries?

By the way I am using this to replace an old Maglite 3C with NiteIze upgrade for work. Big difference, even on the low setting the Kobalt is vastly superior in color, brightness and eveness.

Flashlight Enthusiast
Back here on the forums after a long time. I just bought a new Kobalt 500 lumen light from Lowes. It is the single LED version, not the 3 LED, and it takes 3 CR123's, and has a high an low mode. I have no experience with 123's, or a light this bright or this brand. Can someone figure out what the drain time/battery life is?

And I noticed that 123 cells are unbelievably expensive, at least at Lowes, $10 for a pack of two. I've been doing research and heard about the explosion dangers if the cells are not matched. I went to Battery Junction and bought some of their matched triple set Titanium's, is this a good way to go for the future so I don't bankrupt myself on batteries?

By the way I am using this to replace an old Maglite 3C with NiteIze upgrade for work. Big difference, even on the low setting the Kobalt is vastly superior in color, brightness and eveness.

search google for kobalt 500 lumen and it brings you here
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb...-Lowes-Kobalt-500-Lumen-3x123-Cree-XM-L-Light

to not bankrupt yourself on batteries