Photographer looking for both a floody LED and floody incandescent!

waxycap

Newly Enlightened
Hello, first post here. I know nothing.

Contrary to my post title, I am not necessarily seeking personal flashlight recommendations, only general research help.
I must have either a floody luminescent flashlight or a floody LED flashlight that is not bluish, "obnoxiously white",
or purple looking. Basically, I am looking for something good for photography.

I will be returning here often since I am a photographer interested in learning about artificial light quality
as it might pertain to photography in low light conditions. (I am already aware that flash and remote flash is a proper setup.)

I did not know there was so much to flashlights until I came across this forum.

I have heard that the CREE LED's have the best CRI (Color Rendering Index nearing 100), however I never see this spec listed anywhere
by a manufacturer so it cannot be used to make any real life comparisons. Either way, LED light is almost invariably artificial looking,
(I don't have 200-300 dollars to spend on a great LED with red/ blue LED's etc.)

In regards to spectrum/quality of light, I know price is the biggest factor in making the initial judgement, but quality of light is also where I am
at a loss for research. I will post my answers to the questionnaire thing later in this thread if that helps. For now I'll just respond
with shorter answers.

Thank you for any help

Last edited:

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sounds like you're trying to do some "light painting" with flashlights and are primarily concerned with the tint. I don't have a lot of experience with tints except to says that it is probably highly subjective, not only by individuals, but also by what each manufacturer deems as "neutral white" or "High CRI." Furthermore, I've even seen quite a variation in tints from the same exact model!