Need travel sized UV for inspecting hotel rooms

Bicycleflyer

Enlightened
I'm a freight pilot that does a lot of international travel and I need a UV light that is small enough to pack in a suitcase. The purpose of the light will be to inspect hotel rooms for cleanliness. Most of the hotels we travel to are decent and I/we do not suspect them as a problem. But in some locations our company has opted to put the pilots and mechanics up in "questionable" hotels. We complain and convey our suspicions, but without proof, nothing gets done. hence this post.

I did a search of the forums and found nothing that quite matches what I am seeking.

So, first what wavelength should I be looking for? The kind of stuff we are looking to find are human fluids such as seamen, urine, and such. In addition urine from mice or rats. I'm not sure what else we should be looking for, so suggestions are appreciated. Does any of this stuff require a chemical be sprayed before they illuminate? If so then this is a non-starter as I cannot carry that stuff.

Size..Nothing larger than a 2-AA maglight. smaller would be better.

batteries...I am flexible on this. AA or AAA would be nice, but other battery types are OK too. This is not a piece of required equipment. If the batteries go dead, I can wait till I get home to buy replacements

Cost...about 30 USD.

Lastly, if I do find something, I have to photograph it. How would I do this? It would seem the flash would have to be disabled. Is this the correct way to do it?

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions.

eh4

Flashlight Enthusiast
That is so gross, i'd take my own sheet and focus on detecting bed bugs... If you really want to know then uv is surely the way to go. Sorry I don't know anything first hand, but I'm pretty sure you need a low light setting and No flash for tht pic.

hank

Flashlight Enthusiast
Simplest and easiest: links removed. see red banner at top of page
Used one of these for years to check carpets for cat accidents.