Arc6 Upgrades/Mods Thread! Post your thoughts and mods here!

Torchaddict

Newly Enlightened
XM-L mod completed. See post #19 for details.

Nichia High CRI mod completed. See post #34 for details.

Just snatched up my grail light (and my very first EDC!) the Arc6 and wanted to make a 'centralized' Arc6 mod thread as I couldn't really find one.

Some pics that made me fall in love:

IMG_4835.jpg

LS20-ARC6-NC-D10.jpg
2902991916_c4ddb6aee3.jpg

Now I'm thinking about upgrading the emitter itself. This will be my first mod, but I think it'll be easy since I have some soldering experience and the Arc6 is supposedly upgrade-friendly. The tough part is deciding on which LED to use. I was thinking about a Cree XM-L, but then I read this thread:

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?291586-I-think-I-ve-figured-out-the-weak-link-in-the-Arc6.

And it seems that a Cree MC-E is also a good alternative and may even extend run-times by quite a bit! I've PMed fyrstomer about it and will update this thread accordingly.
EDIT: I'm just a beginner here, so as I understand, the MC-E has a much lower Vf (forward voltage) than the stock P4 and thus takes less energy (watts) at a certain current. Stock Arc6's can draw 4-5A from the battery on level 7 whilst putting 1.5A through the LED. Replacing the LED to one with a lower Vf should slightly extend runtimes. I'll update once I complete my mod with an efficient XM-L.

Anyways, would just like to see the mods that some people have done to their Arc6 and what recommendations anyone has on the emitter that I should use.
If anyone also knows the general current draw for each of the levels, that would be great too EDIT: (Found regulated current for each lvl. see below) . Here are the lumen ratings with P4.

LUMENS
Here's what the output of the Arc6 (P4) with a rechargeable 123 is at each level:

• Level 1: <1 lumen
  • Level 2: 7 lumens
  • Level 3: 35 lumens
  • Level 4: 70 lumens
  • Level 5: 100 lumens