Unique Titanium
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 191

Thread: SureFire R1 Lawman

  1. #31
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    All I've got is a ruler, and it's over 1" but not 1.25", so my guess is 1.1".

  2. #32

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin24k View Post
    All I've got is a ruler, and it's over 1" but not 1.25", so my guess is 1.1".
    So it is slightly thicker than a SF 6P? Similar size to a Streamlight LED Stinger?

    Oh and beamshots!

  3. #33
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    It's thicker than the Fury, which is 1.0" diameter. It's a little thinner than the Stinger DS LED.

    Beamshot (pretty much identical to the Fury):


  4. #34
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    I'm going to try to coincide my review with the official announcement, which is planned for Thursday. SureFire's website will direct customers to dealers and will not be taking orders for the first 30 days, but dealer orders have been fulfilled so they should start showing up as being in-stock.

  5. #35
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman


  6. #36

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Good review. One question though. I can't for the life of me figure out how to get medium and low settings. The manual doesn't say how either. =(

  7. #37
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Do you only have high from both the head and tail switches? I think Program Set 3 is actually the default one, not Program Set 1 (mine came with Program Set 3 as default, and it seems like yours did too), so you'll need to change the program set. Twist the tail switch to constant on, then press and hold the head switch until the light turns off. That will advance the program set to the next one.

  8. #38

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Ok. I'll have to check after it charges.

  9. #39

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Nice review! Now I need to find the best price and order one for myself!

  10. #40
    Flashaholic* BenChiew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Malaysia/Ship to Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    3,080

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StarHalo View Post
    Hello recharging port and status light..

    Is this even shower proof considering the charging hole is exposed?

  11. #41
    Flashaholic Dr. Strangelove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    The War Room
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Curse you Robin24k! I read your review and now I must buy one! Oh the humanity!

    PS Please don't review the UNR Commander when it come out!
    Last edited by Dr. Strangelove; 04-26-2012 at 02:11 PM.
    "It used to be 'Merkwuerdigliebe'"

  12. #42
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    SureFire has confirmed that it's water-resistant.

    Before taking pictures for my reviews, I always wash the lights with soap and water (to get rid of dust, fingerprints, etc. and also test water-resistance). I also filled the charge port with water and kept it there for a couple minutes, and the water level stayed the same so there was no ingress.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Strangelove View Post
    Curse you Robin24k! I read your review and now I must get one! Oh the humanity!
    Hey, I said that the final decision is up to your budget or equipment allowance...don't blame me for it...

  13. #43

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Quote Originally Posted by Melson View Post
    The price is kind of disappointing to me. If it was 250 I would eventually succumb to its pull and buy one
    I agree, a little hard to believe that it will actually be used much as an LEO duty light at that price. Of course, SF might possibly give the lights to LAPD for almost nothing to promote the branding.

    Speaking of the branding, the new SF light reminds me of that music again, the music that never fails to make me wonder what it must be like to strap on a gun, pin on a badge, and become - A LAWMAN!:

    http://www.greaseman.org/bits_album_lawman.html

  14. #44

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    I've always been a big SF fan and am very excited that they have finally come out with a viable LEO light. Their old rechargeables were pretty good, but taking the battery out was just such a pain. The packaging, while cool, is a little bit over kill though. Loving the light already!




  15. #45
    Enlightened
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    87

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    lapolicegear has it for 320.

  16. #46

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Quote Originally Posted by kamote-fries View Post
    lapolicegear has it for 320.
    No longer in stock....and add $9.95 (or so) for shipping.
    They are the cheapest Ive found though...I paid an extra $5 because I hem-hawed around and didnt order from them quick enough.
    Got mine from Bravotac for $335 with free shipping. Ordered at 3:30 my time and had shipping confirmation by 4:30 my time.

    Cant wait to get it. Been waiting a long time for a replacement from SF for my 8AX, and Im hoping that maybe this will fit in the holster the 8AX rode in for the last 6 years...otherwise the wait will be on again for the correct holster! LOL!

  17. #47
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    If it's an open-top holster, it should work fine. I'm using a Pelican 7060 holster, which fits pretty much everything...ML125, R1 Lawman, Stinger DS LED, etc.

  18. #48

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Quote Originally Posted by Lodogg2221 View Post
    No longer in stock....and add $9.95 (or so) for shipping.
    They are the cheapest Ive found though...I paid an extra $5 because I hem-hawed around and didnt order from them quick enough.
    Got mine from Bravotac for $335 with free shipping. Ordered at 3:30 my time and had shipping confirmation by 4:30 my time.

    Cant wait to get it. Been waiting a long time for a replacement from SF for my 8AX, and Im hoping that maybe this will fit in the holster the 8AX rode in for the last 6 years...otherwise the wait will be on again for the correct holster! LOL!
    LAPG has 10% off coupons all the time..so your looking at around 300 shipped

  19. #49

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Good review, tkanks!!!
    The problem is the SF price.
    I'll wait for price drop.


  20. #50
    Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,882

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Hi Robin,

    Do you have a comparison photo to show the difference between the Lawman and some other two batteries SF lights like E2DL, E2L, or even E2L AA? The last I remember, the Lawman seems huge in the hands of the SF spokesman during one of the SHOT Show video.
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  21. #51
    Administrator Size15's's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Kettering, England
    Posts
    18,408

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin24k View Post
    If it's an open-top holster, it should work fine. I'm using a Pelican 7060 holster, which fits pretty much everything...ML125, R1 Lawman, Stinger DS LED, etc.
    It'd be cool to see photos of the R1 compared to other daylights; past and current to see how it sizes against them please

  22. #52
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    There's a picture in the conclusion section of my review.
    It's actually quite small compared to the other lights, and I can feel a difference in size and weight between it and the Stinger DS LED that I usually carry.

  23. #53
    Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,882

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    It that a Fury on the extreme left? If that is then I think the Lawman is huge in comparison to it.
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  24. #54
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Yes, that's a Fury on the left. Keep in mind that the R1 is designed to compete with mid-sized rechargeable systems, not tactical-sized lights.

  25. #55

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Well, I think Robin mentioned it, but on my R1 the tailcap switch is VERY stiff.
    No way Ill be using this as I did my 8AX. Could use that for a long time holding the tailcap switch in, as well as any of my other SF lights, but either mine has an issue, or Surefire needs to address the ridiculous pressure required to maintain the light "ON" with the tailcap.
    Im hoping its an issue with mine only, but if not, c=ant help but think they didnt really do much field testing with officers before pronouncing it ready to go...I know several including myself that dont like the idea of having to hold that thing down during a traffic stop for a long time, or having to switch grips to activate it from the front for constant....the old one wasnt that way, and while I can see having it more stiff, mine is ridiculously so.
    Again, Im hoping mine is just a fluke....Ive got big, strong hands, so a bit stiffer isnt an issue, as I did read that before I ordered, but this is bad.

    BTW, I did email Surefire to ask them about the switch....awaiting their response. Hopefully it wont be "we purposely designed it that way", or Ill be one unhappy camper.
    I know Robin said in his review that it was like that to prevent accidental activation in a "tactical situation", but then why werent the M3 and any of the others like that too?
    Id say its got to do with the battery, and they had no easy way around it. My tailcap appears to be contacting the "removal ring" (for lack of a better term) at the same time as the cap hits the body to activate. Has marks on it consistent with the position of the ring.

    Dunno....maybe I really do have a bad one...it happens.
    Hopefully thats it. Will follow up when I know whats up for sure. Until its resolved, this one wont be on my belt though...back to the 8AX until then.

    BTW again, the good news is, it will fit in the holster for the 8AX nicely.

    Also, size wise, if you have a 9AN Commander (as I do), its the same size, minus the barrel width. Width wise, its like the 8AX. Just think of it as a more slender, much brighter, rechargeable 9AN with a REALLY stiff tailcap switch (jury is out on the last until I hear back from SF).

    I really like the light. I think the brightness setting they chose will work well for a number of situations...I would like a bit lower low like for use in the car for paperwork or something, but it will do until they release the dongle (LOL) for it!

    Again, I know others have said it, but thanks Robin24K for the review!

  26. #56

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    My tail switch is pretty stiff as well. Just a little bit stiffer than the 6PX Tactical I have. I also have a 6P Defender that is about 5 years old and the switch is noticeably softer. Then again, I also have a 10 year old E2 with a stiffer switch.

    I just use the side switch.

  27. #57
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    It's stiff, and that's normal...it was the first thing I mentioned to them, and the response was that it's designed to prevent accidental activation in tactical situations (hence the raised lip on the tail cap as well). Unscrewing the tailcap about 1/3 turn from constant on should make it a bit better, but if you want constant on, it's better to use the head switch or twist the tailcap, rather than holding down the tail switch. Keep in mind that if the light is on, tapping the tail switch will turn it off, so you probably don't want that to happen unintentionally.

    My guess is that the R1 is designed for use primarily with the head switch, especially if you're using a multi-mode program set. I've got medium mode in memory for the head switch, so if I need more light, I can just twist the tailcap.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lodogg2221 View Post
    Id say its got to do with the battery, and they had no easy way around it. My tailcap appears to be contacting the "removal ring" (for lack of a better term) at the same time as the cap hits the body to activate. Has marks on it consistent with the position of the ring.
    Mine has that too. It's probably from using constant on, not momentary. The removal ring does not serve any electrical purpose, the tail switch briges the center contact to the body.
    Last edited by Robin24k; 04-30-2012 at 04:58 PM.

  28. #58

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin24k View Post
    Mine has that too. It's probably from using constant on, not momentary. The removal ring does not serve any electrical purpose, the tail switch briges the center contact to the body.
    I wonder if thats part of the issue. Maybe if the bottom of the inside contact ring was shaved a bit so that it didnt make contact, it would alleviate some of the issue?
    Just thinking out loud, but Ive been playing with it a bit, and it almost needs to be rocked to the side to activate if its screwed down too far.

    Not really something I expect from SF...but we will see where, if anywhere, it goes.

    My real issue is that I want the light off when I want it off...and on when I want it on, which is why I MUCH prefer the momentary on. Basically, when I let go, I dont want to have to "click" it off. It also means I might as well have only one setting if I have to use the head switch, which kind of defeats the purpose.
    Its more what Im used to, and as Surefire said its a direct replacement for my 8AX, and all of their other lights are designed with tailcap switch as the primary switch, Id think this would be the same, with an auxiliary head switch. It would seem that the opposite is true.
    If so, Id then ask, why would they decide to change what LE likes in lights?
    Its the reason Streamlight went to a tailcap switch....or a DS version.

    Anyway....Ill either get used to it or get rid of it if SF says thats the way its supposed to be. It will be the first SF Ive ever gotten rid of if that happens though...

  29. #59
    Thread Killer Illum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,611

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    So this is what the beloved L7 turned into hey....
    hmm,

  30. #60
    Flashaholic* Robin24k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,949

    Default Re: SureFire R1 Lawman

    Are you primarily using it in momentary from the tail switch? Tailcap switches tend to be preferred on smaller lights, and the R1 is the first SureFire with a head switch (if I'm not mistaken), so it's definately something different.

    Usually there's a preference towards head switches on larger lights, so it's not trying to change LE habits. Imagine having to use a tail switch on the UDR Dominator...

    Quote Originally Posted by Lodogg2221 View Post
    I wonder if thats part of the issue. Maybe if the bottom of the inside contact ring was shaved a bit so that it didnt make contact, it would alleviate some of the issue?
    Resistance comes from the tailcap spring, not the battery (it doesn't move), so I don't think it's related.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •