HDS Systems
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: How do I Clickie my C2?

  1. #1
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default How do I Clickie my C2?

    I did some searching, how to I convert my C2 to a clickie?
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

  2. #2

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    The Oveready McClicky kit is what I'd recommend. If you don't want to do it yourself, I think you can send your tailcap to Oveready. SolarForce also makes a line of forward-clicky tailcaps that will fit.

  3. #3
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by electromage View Post
    The Oveready McClicky kit is what I'd recommend. If you don't want to do it yourself, I think you can send your tailcap to Oveready. SolarForce also makes a line of forward-clicky tailcaps that will fit.
    Thank you...I'd like to keep the stock tailcap, but just hate the stock function.
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

  4. #4
    *Flashaholic* Sgt. LED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chesapeake, Ohio
    Posts
    7,486

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Go to oveready.com it's an easy installation!

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* archimedes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    CONUS, arteriosus
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    Could also put up a WTB for a Z58 (if HA) or Z59 (if BK) ....
    Last edited by archimedes; 04-26-2012 at 08:37 PM.
    IF 2 = 1 THEN 1 = 0

  7. #7
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sgt. LED View Post
    Go to oveready.com it's an easy installation!
    Thank you Sgt.

    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    Have you tried to Google CPF?

    Norm
    Yeah Norm, I did...thank you.

    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    Could also put up a WTB for a Z58 (if HA) or Z59 (if BK) ....
    That's another great idea, thank you...I always get the SF model numbers mixed up, definitely a noob.
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

  8. #8
    *Flashaholic* nbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    5,583

    Default

    The instructions for the McClicky installation are very good, and it is a pretty easy mod if you're even a little handy. They are excellent switches and will probably suit you very well if you want to keep the Z48 tailcap.

  9. #9

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    Could also put up a WTB for a Z58 (if HA) or Z59 (if BK) ....
    I have a Surefire C2 Centurion, its empty...it has a tail cap, but other than that, you can look at the spring through the lens. (Gutted)

    I was considering doing something with it...but, I am not familiar with the designations like HA or BK used here, or if it takes a Z58 or a Z59, etc...or if it even matters at this point.




    How would I tell?


  10. #10
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    sfv, california
    Posts
    1,723

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by TEEJ View Post
    I have a Surefire C2 Centurion, its empty...it has a tail cap, but other than that, you can look at the spring through the lens. (Gutted)

    I was considering doing something with it...but, I am not familiar with the designations like HA or BK used here, or if it takes a Z58 or a Z59, etc...or if it even matters at this point.




    How would I tell?

    HA: is referred to here as the HAIII natural color, this is that oiive drab/greyish/brownish color that is default for most Surefires.
    BK: Black color
    Z58: Clicky tailcap in HAIII natural color
    Z59: Clicky tailcap in HAIII black color.
    HAIII: Hard anodized coating that makes the aluminum more resistant to wear and corrosion.

    Both Z58 and Z59 are identical except for color and both would fit your C2.

  11. #11
    Flashaholic Howecollc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    415

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    It's Surefire OEM and looks even better than your stock tailcap.

    Last edited by Howecollc; 04-27-2012 at 11:14 PM.

  12. #12
    Enlightened dmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    I would also recommend Oveready.
    The possibilities for Surefire's are endless with them.

  13. #13
    Flashaholic* yifu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    713

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    There are sooo many choices and i'm not even kidding.
    1. McClicky: Very good and my personal choice. The max rating is 4A (but will not melt until after 7A) at 12V DC for 10 000 actuations. The resistance (as measured by Dan at Oveready) is 92% of a ZeroRez tailcap. You can get Soft, med or hard press boots easily.

    2. Kroll Tailcap: Not made anymore but you can still get them at TheSandwichShoppe (i can link you if you wish). Some people prefer the shape (conical), as it is easier to actuate.

    3. Netkidz: Not made anymore but you might be able to snatch it up on the B/S/T. An alternative to the McClicky.

    4. FETtie: Made by VanIsleDSM in the custom B/S/T. This is the most advanced out of all of them, as it is essentially like a relay (think of a solenoid in your car) that can easily handle 400W of power or 20+ Amps without breaking into a sweat. The resistance is the lowest out of all of them so you WILL get more light in direct drive setups and more runtime in regulated setups. Available in both forward or reverse configurations.

    5. Stock Z58: Is a clicky, but not recommended for higher powered drop ins like Quads/trips/XMLs as the max current rating is 2.5A. Higher resistance than a McClicky and no room for changing boots etc.

    There are 2-3 more but their name escapes me. Hope that helps! Personally, i've owned pretty much all of these 5 and McClicky is still my favourite The only downside really is less output in my FM1794 setup and less runtime in my 5.6A quad. But i can handle a 15% loss on both accounts.

  14. #14

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    I notice on overready, that when selecting boots, you can only get the black switch with the hardpress. The softpress comes in pink, green, and orange. Can I get the green in hardpress as well from somewhere? or what?

  15. #15
    Flashaholic* yifu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    713

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    You can get the hardpress in any colour, as long as it's black The medpress, softpress and hardpress are made of different materials, the hardpress is made of rubber, and the soft/med press are made of softer silicon. My understanding is that rubber is harder to colour so the only hardpress boots are black.

  16. #16

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Ah, I see. It seems that you can only get the med press in black as well, at least on oveready.com anyway.

  17. #17
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Anyone have experience with both hard and medium press, I'd like to hear some feedback before making the purchase.
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

  18. #18

    Default

    When I first sent samples of the medium to Tom, he asked for 20 more so he could replace all the HPs on his lights. The difference is small (and hard to describe) but significant.

    Fortunately, they are easy to change around. I suggest having some of each, then narrowing in on a favorite. And context matters: folks who like MP on a sheltered cap like the triad may prefer HP on an exposed cap like the Z41.

  19. #19

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectronGuru View Post
    When I first sent samples of the medium to Tom, he asked for 20 more so he could replace all the HPs on his lights. The difference is small (and hard to describe) but significant.

    Fortunately, they are easy to change around. I suggest having some of each, then narrowing in on a favorite. And context matters: folks who like MP on a sheltered cap like the triad may prefer HP on an exposed cap like the Z41.
    What switch colors are available in med/hard press? Just black?

  20. #20
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectronGuru View Post
    When I first sent samples of the medium to Tom, he asked for 20 more so he could replace all the HPs on his lights. The difference is small (and hard to describe) but significant.

    Fortunately, they are easy to change around. I suggest having some of each, then narrowing in on a favorite. And context matters: folks who like MP on a sheltered cap like the triad may prefer HP on an exposed cap like the Z41.

    I see there is a part called a "boot spacer", is that a mandatory part of the kit? I already have a couple McClickies, so I'm just ordering the balance of the parts needed to convert a cap I have.
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

  21. #21

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by F250XLT View Post
    I see there is a part called a "boot spacer", is that a mandatory part of the kit? I already have a couple McClickies, so I'm just ordering the balance of the parts needed to convert a cap I have.
    Medium and Hard press boots are made with one mold and soft press boots are made with a second. Spacers are needed with medium and hard press boots. They are optional for soft.


    Quote Originally Posted by jalcon View Post
    What switch colors are available in med/hard press? Just black?
    Hardpress are made with natural rubber, available only in black. It may be possible to make variations of the Medium.

  22. #22
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    I received my McClickie Kit from Oveready, the swap was not that difficult. The switch popped out with one strike of a punch, but I had to boil it to get the retaining ring out. Very nice upgrade, makes a great host even better.
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

  23. #23
    Flashaholic lightknot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ USA
    Posts
    299

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Always been pleased with Oveready.com goods. They care about quality.
    Shed Light - Vital Gear, PEU Pineapples, Customs: Four Leaf Flashlights.com
    Marketplace link: Four Leaf Flashlights

  24. #24
    *Flashaholic* fyrstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    5,830

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    Have you tried to Google CPF?

    Norm
    Generally speaking, when I have a question that CPF has an answer for, doing a Google Web Search turns up the relevant CPF thread in the top ten hits -- and when Google doesn't turn up a topic on CPF in the top ten hits, I usually spend hours searching CPF with every search parameter I can think of and I come up with nothing.
    Last edited by fyrstormer; 05-15-2012 at 03:51 PM.

  25. #25
    Flashaholic* F250XLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    I can see the Windmills...
    Posts
    2,148

    Default Re: How do I Clickie my C2?

    Quote Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
    Generally speaking, when I have a question that CPF has an answer for, doing a Google Web Search turns up the relevant CPF thread in the top ten hits -- and when Google doesn't turn up a topic on CPF in the top ten hits, I usually spend hours searching CPF with every search parameter I can think of and I come up with nothing.

    That's why I typically do a quick search, and if I don't find what I'm looking for, I post a question.

    BTW, your PM box is full
    "I am not a Collector" - Tim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •