dynamo triple XPG , front and back.

capnahab

Newly Enlightened
Maybe i am expecting too much but I have a red triple xpg on an indus star (ledsupply) and a white one the same. I thought I would try and use both of them for a front and rear set up using Martins circuit 3. The red led lights well and is replacing one of the diodes as instructed. The front led tho will not light . I have checked its working , and if I replace it in the reds position in the circuit its fine.
Am I expecting too much for my SON dynamo to power both of them.
I am a novice at this so patience appreciated.

Bobblehat

Newly Enlightened
Maybe i am expecting too much ........... .

I take it your red and white triples are wired in series on the star? If they are, then your red LEDs that you put in as substitute for the standard diode do not have the same forward voltage as Martin's paralleled red LEDs ...... it is at least 3 or 4 times higher .... probably 9 volts in total. This is what is likely to be affecting your white LEDs.

Even 1 red xp-g as a rear light will be very bright (too bright?) and 3 xp-g's for the front will be great at speed but will not produce much light at lower speed. If the low speed performance is acceptable why not try Martin's circuit 7 where you have 1 red and 3 white LEDs all in series? Use Martin's values 4 LEDs in the table ...... they'll be close enough.

A10K

Newly Enlightened