Foxfury Rook
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Trying to remove strobe mode from led (circuit pictures included)

  1. #1

    Default Trying to remove strobe mode from led (circuit pictures included)

    Hi guys I have bought an elcheapo led torch from ebay. (also apologies if this is the wrong section/forum, mods please move it)

    The thing annoying me about is the modes it has 3 modes Hi/Lo and strobe . I want a simple torch with on/off, but i could live with hi/lo, but absolutely hate strobe.

    Anyway here are the circuit pictures so hopefully one of you guys can see what i need to mod to make it a simple on/off torch and remove atleast strobe.


    pics:




    and a panit drawing if you cant quite make out the details.


    the black boxes are like transistors or something they are soldered onto the circuit board (sorry im not expert in electronics) but i do know basics and shoudl be able to do a simple solder.



    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    *Flashaholic* wquiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA, Earth
    Posts
    8,414

    Default Re: Trying to remove strobe mode from led (circuit pictures included)

    What is the picture of the back of the circuit board?

    You can also put in a new LED driver - most are between $5-10 from ASIA, and they typically have solderable bridges so that you can change the behavior:
    http://flashlightwiki.com/Driver

    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...iring-Question

    You can just Google for "7135 LED Driver" and should get plenty of links to review, study, etc..

    Will
    Last edited by wquiles; 06-12-2012 at 07:24 AM.
    Please no PM/Visitor Msg's. Email for questions/Paypal: wquiles [at] gmail {dot} com. Please visit my new website.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Trying to remove strobe mode from led (circuit pictures included)

    I just removed the resistor? (ID3).

    now its working perfect .

    simply on/off mode


    wooo

  4. #4
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default how do i remove modes from my torch?

    Hi, I've got a 1300 Lumens CREE XML XM-L T6 LED tourch with 3 modes on, dim and strobe. all i want is on and off (on full) is there any way to pull apart and rewire? or do i need a whole new board?
    cheers

  5. #5
    *Flashaholic* Gunner12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    10,044

    Default Re: how do i remove modes from my torch?

    Which light is this? Usually, you'll need a whole new board. If you are good with electronics and soldering, you might be able to bypass the microcontroller on the driver of the light and turn it into a single mode light.


  6. #6

    Default Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    First time here.

    I purchased two Ultrafire XM-l T6 flashlights (Goodbye Maglites!) only to find out that you can't avoid the flashing modes. ( Never in my 60 years have I needed or wanted a flashing mode in a flashlight. I'm amazed that all these lights come with this useless feature )

    I ended up buying a 3-mode driver board which was a bit smaller in diameter and I had to machine an adapter to fit. A bit of a pain but all's well with those two.

    I'm about to buy a couple more of the same style lights but can't find any with a 3-mode driver that doesn't have some kind of flashing mode. Even a two way would be fine but I can't find that either.

    Is there any way to modify the 5-mode driver to defeat the flash modes? Not an electronics guy, but I'm guessing one of the IC's on the board does the switching. You'd think it could be bypassed.

    Any hope here?

    Thanks.

    P.S. Man, the search engine here is a tough one. Sorry, but that verfication thing is BS.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    You might try linking pins 3-4 with solder. Some Attiny mcu's can be modded this way to give l-m-h only. See the 1.4A driver at Illumination Supply or International Outdoor. It does not work with all 7135 based drivers.
    Three Tanna leaves to give him life, nine to give him movement. But what if he eats the whole bag?

  8. #8
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    995

    Default Re: Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    There are some Drivers with multiple Groups. Once you've selected the Group you want, you'll never need to worry about unwanted Modes.

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* kosPap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Naoussa Greece
    Posts
    2,593

    Default Re: Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    what flashlight are we talking about? And what is the diameter of the driver?
    There are versions of the 7135-chip drivers that are configurable

  10. #10

    Default Re: Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    Arcman

    I am 68 and have used Surefire all my adult working and now retired life and have been now using these new lights mainly the Eagletac G25C2 MKll, Eagletac D25LC2, and the great Nitecore TM26 that have all these hidden modes.

    At my age my only need would be for them would be for an emergency location strobe or beacon.

    I am just grateful that some of the strobe & beacon modes can be separated from everyday use.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    Sorry guys, been away for a few days.

    The chip is 20mm diameter.


  12. #12
    Flashaholic Dr.Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Possible to mod 5-mode driver to remove flash modes?

    The modes (all of them) are built into that little 6-pin IC and can't be easily removed or bypassed. What I often do with lights like this is to remove the components of that board and use it as contact plate for a NANJG105C (with custom firmware, so I can have all the modes I want) - supposing there's enough space above the original driver.

  13. #13

    Default How to modify simple mode?

    I have an Ultra-Fire 502B and want to simply modify it to ON HIGH and OFF. I want to eliminate the other modes entirely. I searched here, but can't find any instructions. Any help?

  14. #14
    Retired Administrator Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Gippsland Australia
    Posts
    9,016

    Default Re: How to modify simple mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by Edna Shimeluski View Post
    I have an Ultra-Fire 502B and want to simply modify it to ON HIGH and OFF. I want to eliminate the other modes entirely. I searched here, but can't find any instructions. Any help?
    A Google search of CPF

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •