Lights for the blind

Mutie

Enlightened
I am legally blind (which is a huge relief since I've been illegally blind for so many years). More specifically I have less than 5 degrees peripheral vision left and that is going too. The vision I do have does correct to 20/50. My main problem now is night blindness. Many years ago I started wearing headlights and became quite dependent on them and also not realizing how bad my vision was getting. The condition I have is called gyrate atrophy, has no cure, and is progressive. I quit night driving 4 years ago and driving altogether 2 years ago.

However wearing a Petzl Megabelt with halogen bulb is quite unacceptable in most situations. It works fine for me but I can't look at people without blinding them. (Insert evil maniacical laughter here (now we're even)).

I've been using LED's for many years now. In the last two years I've developed LED antenna using clusters of red and blue (trying to get more of a 3d effect similar to the 3d red and blue glasses to improve my depth perception).

Anyway what I'm trying to do (mostly for myself, but I'm running into all kinds of people with night blindness and as I begin hooking up with the Braille Institute and more blind people) is develop LED technology specifically for night blindness and depth perception. This is along the lines of preserving night vision. But in my case at least dim is not an option. It has to be bright and I need the contrast to tell where the edge of a step or dropoff is. At the same time I don't want to be blinding people and I don't want to always be obvious.

So any thoughts or advice? I'm running a bit short on time before I have to leave so I will post some more design criteria later.

Darell

Flashaholic
Originally posted by Mutiny Sfears:
... and I don't want to always be obvious.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I'm afraid this might eliminate the "LED antenna" idea. Or maybe my imagination is just more active than it should be.
smile.gif