My 1st Real Light & Collection - Batteries & Chargers / Recommended Lights for Kids

JC-Preps

Newly Enlightened
My 1st Real Light & Collection - Batteries & Chargers / Recommended Lights for Kids

After many hours of searching, I've decided on my 1st "real" light as a Klarus XT11.

What I need recommendation(s) on are for batteries & chargers.

I currently only own Energizer 1.2V NiMH batteries...and I'm brand new to CPF and "non NiMH batteries". :)
(and a secondary question - can I use these Energizer 2300 mAh AA's and 850 mAh AAA's in other, non XT11 "AA" and "AAA" flashlights? - like the Quark AA's, etc.?)

As far as the XT11 - Please recommend good batteries & charging system. (I'm not looking for the lowest cost...but something that will last for decades and also get the most life out of my batteries) I guess I'm looking for a few different options from you all as I'm not looking to spend $500 on a charger at this point. (although I probably will want to after learning more here on CPF and buying more & more flashlights)
:)

What I'm really looking for is some kind of standard that I can have several batteries as backups. (In preparation for long term camping trips, or even long term power outages) Later in 2012 or 2013 I will also be buying a solar powered unit (to 120 AC) so that I can be sure all of my flashlight & other batteries would be able to be charged - even away from "grid power".

Are there charger systems that charge both CR123's and 18650's? If not, which of those batteries one is more popular? (My understanding is that I should not use "RCR"'s with the XT11?)
(I'm willing to sacrifice some throw to gain battery life, but I'm most interested in the battery choice being as "universal" as possible - for powering other things besides just flashlights, etc.)

I hope that all makes sense - and I look forward to your help! :)

I need a few recommendations to help round out my beginner flashlight collection:

I personally am getting a Klarus XT11.