What is the point of having .06 lumens and .01 lumens in the zebralight 502?

josherick

Newly Enlightened
I am new to flashlights and I see that the Zebralight 502 looks like a reallly great flashlight, but I was wondering why it has options for .06 and .01 lumens? When would you even want a light that dim? And when you get down that low aren't .06 lumens and .01 lumens virtually indistinguishable from each other?

Surnia

Newly Enlightened
when your eyes are fully night adapted, 0.06 and 0.01 are sufficient to see things in front of you. Its not sufficient to READ with, but its good to see and navigate around a house easily. I can read with the 0.34 mode though..

peterharvey73

Flashlight Enthusiast
You try getting out of bed at 2 am in the morning to go to the bathroom - you will find that 1 lumen OTF is blindingly bright.
Hence 0.06 and 0.01 lumens.
OTF by the way. Actual lumens...

gcbryan

Flashlight Enthusiast
I could see the utility (potentially) of having either .06 or .01 but having both seems like mode overload.

Brasso

Flashlight Enthusiast
The .01 lumen is barely lit. The GITD is probably brighter. I would think it's purpose would simply be as a locator / beacon. The .06 would work for very dark adapted eyes.

Bolster

Flashlight Enthusiast
Has anyone here customized their low mode setting to the .06 or the .01?

I left mine on the default .3 because it seemed plenty low as is.

If you did change to the .06 or .01, there'd really be no need to ever turn the light off, would there? Given runtime measured in !months!

Bolster

Flashlight Enthusiast
Regards most used modes on the H502, they'd be M1 and M2 for me. 18 and 36 lumens take care of most of my work needs. Seldom do I go to any of the high modes, and if I do, usually by accident. I did set H2 for the lower (62 lm) number, which runs for over 3 hours...if I ever have a job that short...unlikely.

Last edited:

davidt1

Flashlight Enthusiast